Man's Best Friend

1 18

It was 2014 when we transfered to a house where we will live for a year or until the owner return our money. The house looks quiet and I am quite scared because we barely knew the neighborhood.

I asked my husband if we could buy a dog. We went to Malabon but the street vendors told us that the sellers are only selling every Sunday morning. I felt bad when my husband decided to go home, telling me that we can do that some other time. Eager as I was, I told him that I could not wait any longer. I want to have a puppy, we need someone to look after us while he's away. So, I was able to convince him.

We went to Aranque Market in Manila. At first I wanted to have a white pomeranian spitz. I know that pure bred pups are expensive and I love to have a crossbreed pup. My husband said Aspin is okay. I have no problem with Aspins but what I wanted that time is someone who's fluffy and brave.

We looked at many cages, sellers tried to offer us a white pomspitz but my husband said the puppy looked sick. When we moved to another store, along with two other puppies, I was mezmerized, astonished and fell in love with what I saw, it was a small, fluffy, active and very cute pup. I asked the seller what breed is it, she told me that she is a crossbreed of chow chow and japanese spitz. We made a bargain, so the seller called the store owner to ask if she could give the puppy in my asking price. Good heavens! She agreed! The seller put the puppy inside a zest-o box then we put the box inside the cage. We also bought dog food and food bowl.

We went home smoothly, I tried to remember that the seller said that we can't give her water right away. We need to wait at least an hour before we give her anything. We usually give her dog food but when she tasted chicken liver she did not eat dog food anymore. By the way, I gave her her name. Her name is Sandy, I don't know why it jusy crossed my mind. Maybe because her fur looks like sand.

Years had passed and she became a huge, smart, sweet but sometimes moody and very suspicious to strangers which is very typical to a chow chow. I, most of the time, can't give her enough time because I am too busy with my work. My daughter and my son are busy with their school too. I am always to one to give her a bath and to walk her outside. I know she is not happy anymore.

Until this faithful day of April 10, 2020 came. This is, I think will be the most unforgetable day of my life as a furparent. It's been a week when Sandy started to have colds, teary eyes and loss of appetite. What shocked me is the time when she sneezed out blood, it was 12 midnight, we don't have a fridge so I run to my neighbors to buy some ice. I texted the vet to asked what to do. She said, put some ice pack in her nose bridge, stomach and nape. The vet also asked if I could bring her to the clinic in the morning, I said I will try because Sandy gets angry easily, maybe because she's not feeling good. I just bought a muzzle to keep her from biting. Finally, I was able to bring her to the vet clinic.

She had blood test, we found out that she had a blood infection, a virus which came from ticks and fleas. It is called Ehrlichia, it is like dengue in humans. I panicked when I saw the blood test results and found out that her platelet count is just 25. The vet doctor said she needs to undergo another blood test. I told her that I don't have much money. I just asked her to give me some prescriptions. I bought the medicines immediately and forced fed Sandy. I can feel her pain and it hurts me so much. She is trying to eat and take the medicines that I give her.

I though she's getting better until that day when I noticed that she finds it hard to urinate. She keeps on going downstairs but there's only few drops of pee coming from her. Then that mind shattering, heart breaking day came. My husband is preparing to go to work that morning, he heard that Sandy is whimpering, which is a sign that she wants to go downstairs and pee. When she came back, she sat beside me in the bed, I heard her breathing heavily, I caressed her back hoping I could ease what she is feeling. I find it hard to wake up that morning because I lack sleep thw previous nights. I fell asleep again, and as I woke up, I looked at the wall clock and I felt thankful that I woke up exactly the time Sandy needs to take her medicine.

I stood up and saw her at the corner, I thought she was just sleeping, when I tried to move her, I felt her stomach is quite hard and she felt cold. I started to woke her up, I run to change my clothes, telling her that it's gonna be alright, I will bring her to the clinic. I did not notice I was already crying. Tears flooded, I sat beside her, ask her why did she leave me. I touched her head, moved it a little and saw blood inside her mouth. Maybe that was she was trying to vomit days ago. I felt so weak and I was trying to convince myself that it was just a bad dream. I cried so much that day, my heart can't contained the pain I was feeling. She is my first dog, she is not only my dog, she is like my third child. She is still young, she is just going 6 this year supposedly.

I read about the rainbow bridge. It said that the pets go in there, they are happy, healthy and always full, they don't suffer in pain or hunger there. Then they will be there, waiting for their masters and together they are going to cross that rainbow bridge towards heaven. I hope Sandy waits for me there. I love her and I am missing her always.

12
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor

Comments

nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago