Struggle gives you Fruit of your efforts...

0 15
Avatar for Humanist
2 years ago

They say every journey begins with a single step. 16 years ago today I took my first step into becoming an artist.

As a kid with dyslexia I was bad at most things and didn't excel at anything. It was my frustrations with where I was in life that lead me to pursue art. I wanted to have something that didn't make me feel like a failure. At first I didn't even think I could improve. I felt low and desperate enough to try anything. This was me trying at something for the very first time in life.

I began to push myself and I saw small, but consistent progress and with each drawing, I began to feel a little more like I had a place in this world. To me, that was the great treasure, even more than the art I made. Eventually there even came a time where I thought of myself as an artist. I didn't think I was heading towards an art career. I was just a kid with some colored pencils searching to find himself.

In the beginning, there was a lot I couldn't control. I couldn't control my level of natural talent or dyslexia, but I could always control how much I worked and how much enthusiasm I drew with. In a way, art saved my life.

These are my best drawings from then and last year. Both are made with colored pencil. I'm excited to be unveiling new works I made this year at my solo show next month at RJD Gallery!

1
$ 0.00

Comments