I couldn't find a free Crypto portfolio tracker, so I'm starting my own in Python

0 12

After a few weeks of run-n-gun crypto trading I decided to finally add some intelligence to my tactics. I started with Coinbase Pro in May, but unfortunately CbPro only shows users their current portfolio value and doesn't offer any management or tracking tools like a typical brockerage's online GUI would. From what I can tell, most Coinbase users subscribe to online portfolio managers to track their returns, generate charts, etc.

This is a sensible move -- but I'm too stubborn and too curious for my own good. I decided to save money and learn a bit by spending absolutely way too much time learning about web API's and Coinbase Pro's API in particular. I'm now developing my own crypto portfolio management software in Python.

First thing I wanted to do is understand how the overall portfolio has performed. The most straightforward way I could think of was to divide the total portfolio value in USD per day since inception by the total amount of USD deposits made until then. This gives a simple ratio, where values greater than one mean the portfolio is worth more than the deposits, and values less than one mean the portfolio is worth less. Behold the fruits of my keyboard labor:

The result paints a pretty dismal picture of my trading. My portfolio value has been in the red since the start of June and dipped as low as ~65 percent of my deposits. As of yesterday I've been sitting at about 80 percent.

Anyways, developing this tool has me pretty excited and I wanted to share my start with y'all. If anyone has recommendations for free (or cheap!) crypto portfolio management software that offers tools a normal brokerage would, I'm all ears -- same goes for recommended analyses, charts, etc that I should tackle next.

Thanks for reading!

1
$ 0.00

Comments