How my day went

6 18
Avatar for HillaryPowers
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Africa

Lead Image

We never quite plan for a day of stress but when it does come our way, there's only little we can do about it. After enjoying an unexpected holiday at work last week since my boss had to travel for a 3-day conference at Abuja and that meant I didn't have to go to work, never did I think I'd be paying for it terribly. While still sprawled on my bed this morning, I got a call on my phone. Alas, it was my boss. Lord, how I wish I had no battery and that he was unable to reach me. Lol

On the contrary, my phone was fully charged and I had no excuse for not answering the phone so I did answer. After a congratulatory message on the new month, he asked that we should meet at the office earlier than ever before because he had misplaced his own key to the office and would need me to come with mine. I felt it wasn't so strange. After all, I had spent three full days without having to go to the office the previous week, so what was so big a deal in having to show up a little earlier than usual on a Monday morning. But little did I know that I was in for an awfully stressful day at work. 😭

As soon as the call ended, I jumped out of bed, dashed into the kitchen and tore two sachets of noodles into a pot of water, setting the fire of the gas cooker to burn in a mild degree so that my noodles wouldn't get overcooked or worst still, burnt, while I had my bath. I got into the bathroom and set a new record of the quickest shower in the last six months. Trust me, you don't even want to know the exact amount of time I spent in there. Yikes, if only I had known that I was making haste for a day of stress. πŸ˜“

As I finished from the shower, I went straight to check on my steaming pot of noodles. It was getting done quite nicely. Good. I left for my room to dress up. Under two minutes or less, I was fully dressed. Yes, just two minutes - now that I think about it, why do our dear females spend so much time dressing up?
Well, I really couldn't tell if my flash bath and dressing up was as a result of my sincere attempt to make it early to the office so as to get it opened before my boss arrived or because of the excitement of my noodles. I guess we'll never know now, though.

Anyway, I went back to the kitchen and gourmandised my noodles right from the pot. Hehehe. When I was done, I set out for the office. I had barely walked ten metres from my house when I found a commercial bike. It was too good to be true because I stayed in a street that seemed to be a dreaded zone for commercial bike riders. You'd have to be very lucky before you can convince a bike rider to convey you to my street on a normal day but here I was, conveniently finding one who was ready to take me to my destination. After I had negotiated the drop price with the bike rider, I got on it and we zoomed off for the office.

I got to the office just in time to meet my boss waiting in a colleague's office. He seemed very pleased to see me because he had only just arrived a minute or two before I did. He had initially thought I'd not be making it down to the office that fast. It felt good that my morning started out with a compliment from my 'oga'. (Oga is a Nigerian pidgin word for 'boss.')
As I opened the office and we settled down, it felt like a movie trick when about four of my boss', colleagues entered with five paper envelopes. They were all filled with examination scripts of 300L students of English and each envelope contained fifty scripts. I was still trying to make sense of the conversation when my boss told me that we had work to do, that the college board had announced the next day as the deadline for submission of results vetting and accreditation and that we had to get all those examination scripts marked, graded, sorted serially, and computed into the college's digital record.

To cut the long story short, I spent the hours between 8am to 6pm, sorting, grading and computing scores today. Normally, I would have written a short story to share on my blog here like I do everyday but I couldn't find the time for that as it was a helluva busy day for me today. So instead, I've decided to write about how I spent my day.

Thank you for reading about my day. Now, tell me, how did your own day go?

3
$ 0.27
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.03 from @Pearlkel
Sponsors of HillaryPowers
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HillaryPowers
2 years ago
Topics: Journal, Africa

Comments

Firstly, I hope you computed our scores correctly oo? πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ˜…πŸ˜… So that means our results will soon be out πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ I can't wait jare so I can see what this beautiful Princess scoredπŸ˜‰πŸ˜”

If you had known what await you in the office, perhaps you could have taken your time to bath and silently and slowly take the noodles into your mouth πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Sorry about that but at least you went to mark our scriptsπŸ™„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really don't know about your department but English have started their results screening. Results should be out soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Education just like taking things slowly and would be the last department to release πŸ˜”πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny enough, I used to think Education was faster with their results until I got to 400L

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't mind them. They carry last over everything in that school. I just wish last semester's result comes out quickly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so too. I want to go and serve my fatherland jare

$ 0.00
2 years ago