World Cup Expectations

2 38
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

This year's world cup is actually one of the first ones that I haven't really had the time to watch most of the matches. Although I'm not a big football fan or one of those really informed guys when it comes to the history of the game ( I know guys that can even tell you the names of family members of football players) but I enjoy the game and from time to time I try to watch a match or two.

Apart from the first opening match, I don't think I've watched a full match so far for any of the teams currently present at the world cup. A lot of this is due to the work schedule of my old job which didn't allow me enough free time to enjoy some of these things.

I've tried to follow some of the action and I can say this is one tournament with a lot of surprises. The first came with Saudi Arabia coming from behind to beat a star studded Argentina team, a match which cut one of my best๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚. Then there was that of Germany and just recently Morocco thrashing Belgium.

Although from the start of the tournament, some teams like Brazil were already tagged as favorites to win the cup and although so far they've not disappointed I think many are now seeing that there are no smaller teams in this tournament and we just might get a shocker this time around. Perhaps an African team making it to the finals, or an Asian one.

One thing I noticed from the start which I believe majority of people are ignoring is the fact that we have a lot of youngsters who are currently in the senior teams representing their countries. Then you have the older and seasoned guys who've had a ton of experience on the big stage. For some of these youngsters, it's their first world cup and they'll obviously do whatever they can to make an impact, while for the older guys it's sadly the last world cup for some of them hence their last chance to also make an impact.

This I believe is why we've seen not just one or two upsets at the world cup so far, and I'm still expecting more thrilling matches to come. My own country didn't qualify for the tournament but I can't help but imagine what we would've brought to the tournament.

My favorites African ballers so far at the world cup are Cameron's Aboubakar and Ghana's Kudus who happens to share my name although I spell with a Q instead of a K. Favorite African team to win would be Senegal as I believe they have one of the best African squads.

3
$ 0.29
$ 0.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Kacy01
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

The WorldCup is just too loaded and I've been enjoying every bit of the matches either watching or checking scores.

Africa countries have been making us proud since the day Morocco beat BELGIUM, now yesterday Cameroon stood on a firm ground to avoid loss while Ghana performed very well to win their Match against Korea.

Aboubakar has kneel injury that's he has been benched from starting the two matches. If not, he's one of their best players.

Kudus, did excellently well and I'm happy for him because he's making name already

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really expecting something different from the African teams this time around. They've shown they have what it takes to go far in this tournament

$ 0.00
1 year ago