TRUST

2 12
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
2 years ago

It's been a rough couple of days for me, if you've been following my articles you'll know it's been some days since I last posted an article here. I think it's been a week since registered, so it would be worth it to congratulate myself on a week here.

A lot of times I like to write about something that's relatable to me and this is one topic I've had to reevaluate seriously. The topic is the word TRUST.

We all know the meaning of trust as it's something we've all been encountering in our daily lives. When you tell a friend a secret, you have to trust in their ability not to reveal it. Or when your mum asks you to cook for the family, she trusts in your cooking abilities. You can quite see that the scope which trust covers varies from context to context, but it's still the same base meaning.

What then is trust? Trust according to relationships or interactions can be said to be a particular level of confidence in something. Almost all our daily dealings require some level of trust, although some cases require more than others. I have to trust that my doctor knows what he's doing when he prescribes a drug for me, meaning I'm confident in his abilities as a doctor.

Over the last few days I've had to deal with a particular worrisome issue relating to a scam. A particular scam between two close friends. So last week my cousin called me that there was a job offer for him, but it was outside the country ( a neighbouring African country which I won't mention here). A friend had called him and told him of a job offer, after much back and forth the friend explained he was able to get an opening for my cousin after discussing with his boss and the pay sounded okay. What was suspicious about it was the other details.

Firstly I searched for the company's name online to get a view of the what they looked like and the first flag was that I couldn't find a proper website. Then I proceeded to check other information, and I was surprised to see that other people had been scammed using the same company name and it was listed by many people as fake. I still wanted to trust the guy, so I checked on Google maps if such a company was listed and found nothing.

So I told my cousin to ask for the address so I could confirm if it was real. Unfortunately after many days of arguing and back and forth, still the guy refused to drop an address. He wanted my cousin to come over that he would describe how to get there to him. At the end of the day i had to tell him that he should forget about it that his friend was trying to scam him. Up until today he has been in disbelief that someone he trusted that much could try to scam him.

Trust is one of the bedrock of our society, if you can't even trust people who are close to you i wonder how we can function as a society. This guy had to travel over many states just to get here only for his hope to be dashed. If there will be growth, there has to be trust.

Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty

3
$ 0.34
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Freedom007
$ 0.01 from @Talecharm
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
2 years ago

Comments

Trust is needed everywhere, in place of work, in relationship both marital and friendly.... You have to trust whoever you're working with for you to encounter success... Nice to meet you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for stopping by. Indeed it is needed everywhere and if we can't trust then we can't develop

$ 0.01
2 years ago