Shadows of his Past

0 20
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

This is day three on my seven day writing streak, I hope I make it to seven. I was scrolling through my notepad when I found something I was writing a long time ago, unfortunately I didn't finish it so I never shared it. I decided to complete it and share here instead, some parts might look like rush work but I just felt I should post.

Shadows of his Past

PRESENT DAY

I'd gotten an invite to the after party which I technically had no business attending looking at the fact that it was a very private one and most people attending were the celebrities of our society. The invite was still in my pocket and whether I would attend or not, those were thoughts for later.

The feeling was undescribable as i stood alongside five thousand other music fans as we were all dancing, jumping and screaming our lungs out to the performance of that one man on stage the great Jack Simmons. This was a special night for him and the rest of us particularly those who knew what kind of man he was about ten years ago.

Unsplash image

TEN YEARS AGO

I had just closed from the store and was heading to my friend Dave's house before I eventually headed home. Tomorrow was my birthday and we were making lots of preparations because I'd invited the whole class the day before. I was crossing the road when I saw a flash of light and that was the last thing i remembered.

Six months later I woke up and realized I'd been in a coma all along and the surprising news was that the driver was none other than our town hero Jack Simmons. Apparently he had been on his way to a party and was high on drugs when he ran into me. He had been sentenced to ten years in prison after drugs were found in his car.

Unsplash image

It was hard adjusting back to life as everyone in our small-town knew me as the boy who Simmons hit, I had gotten popular for the wrong reasons.

Over the course of ten years after the accident I visited Simmons from time to time as much as I could manage trying to offer support and this made us become very close.

I knew he regretted his actions and was very sorry about what happened.

PRESENT DAY

JACK SIMMONS had gotten out of jail prison a year before and this was his first concert after prison. Almost everyone in the town had turned up, particularly because of the theme of the concert.

The concert was focused on raising awareness on the dangers of drugs and all profits made would be donated to helping drug addicts getting clean and finding their way back into society.

Unsplash image

I smiled as I looked up at him performing on stage. This was a man who had gone through alot and was still struggling with the shadows of his past, but he was willing to use his story to make a change instead.

I believe i was right in forgiving him ten years ago.

3
$ 0.69
$ 0.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Laiba1
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments