Sensitizing People on Frauds and Scams

4 34
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

It's the second day for the return of the prodigal son and i appreciate those who took time to read my post yesterday. It's my second article and I hope I'm able to keep up the consistency.

Unlike before where i always set a seven day writing streak Target for myself, unfortunately everytime i somehow couldn't pull through. it's either i slack off at two days or i struggle till the sixth day and something eventually comes up again.

Today though I'd like to talk about something quite a number of us have been unfortunate to fall victim of, I'm talking about scams and frauds. It seems just as we continue to advance in technological areas that can better the lives of people, there are individuals whose sole purpose is to use that same technology for very sinister purposes.

It's not new to many of us that frauds and scams exist and in most cases we've gained a lot of experience from personal mistakes and mistakes from people we know. At this point majority of individuals can spot many of these scams from a mile away.

Unfortunately there are still millions of people who are not aware of some of the simplest ways which people commit these fraudulent activities.

My dad was a target some weeks back and it took the luck and grace that i was actually present with him at that moment to spot what was going on. I realized then that almost anyone can fall victim because these individuals put you in a position where you absolutely trust the information they're giving you and hence feel less reluctant to divulge more sensitive information to them.

I realized then that it's not enough to know these things, it's equally important to educate people from time to time about new methods in use. There are people who are not as technologically inclined as you, it is your duty to inform them whenever you can about ways to avoid falling victim.

Bring it up in conversations and discussions, you never know who would be lucky to pick the information you're passing across and at the end of the day it could mean safeguarding someone's life savings.

When i explained to him that he had almost been a victim of fraud, he was confused because every information they gave him was correct. I had to explain that it's highly unlikely for you to get a call from your bank and even if you do, there are certain information that no bank official will ask for over the phone. They'd rather ask you to come down to the bank and verify the information.

I hope we all put in the effort to sensitize people about these things.

3
$ 0.16
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Freedom007
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

I am also a victim of investment scams before. Now I am more aware about scams and I don't want to be a victim again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've been a victim of so many of them over the years. I guess if we don't make mistakes, we might not learn

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Fraud is now common to people now, some don't even feel like it's illegal because almost everyone are into it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seriously that's the biggest challenge with fighting it. When people begin to see it as a normal way of life, it becomes a big problem

$ 0.00
1 year ago