Indigenous Music

1 18
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

It's yet another wonderful day again and a great one to be here on readcash. It's been quite an eventful week and I must say I've been having lots of fun.

I'm a big fan of music just like a lot of other individuals in the world. The music we listen to might differ but we can all agree there's a reason we listen to music. Some listen for inspiration, some for fun, some during tough moments like heartbreaks, and others even for their religious beliefs. One thing we all have in common regardless of why we listen is the fact that we all love our music.

Music can be soul lifting, and therapeutic in many ways, which is why apart from listening to music sometimes we follow the lives of the musicians who take their time to make them. Although many will argue that a lot of them are in it for the money, we can't fault the hard work which these people put into their craft before we're finally able to listen to them. From writing, singing, touring among many other things that go on, it takes a lot of hard work.

Which is why today I'll be talking about indigenous musicians. I've been in my hometown for about two weeks now and I've had the opportunity to listen to a lot of our own version of hip hop. Recently my cousin introduced me to about two indigenous musicians in our area whom I must say are very talented. From covers of big songs such as kwaku the traveler to their own music, even if you can't understand the language I'm sure you can spot talented musicians when you hear them.

From time to time my cousin has been in contact with them and from some of what I heard, sponsorship is actually one of the limitations they've been facing for a long time now. Which is why I decided to make the post, acknowledging the hard work of other indigenous musicians in our hip hop industry today who have over the years made great mark and shown that there can be a cross of hip hop into our local dialects. Big names like Olamide, Phyno from Nigeria and Sarkodie from Ghana, Kwesta from South Africa who are all rappers immediately come to mind because although they are rappers they've all made our local dialects popular in the international scene.

And that's the beauty of music, someone from Nigeria like me doesn't understand the language Sarkodie or Kwesta raps in but the feeling, the flow, the vibe when you listen to their music and no one needs to tell you they're talented musicians.

Music is a big unifying factor wherever you go in the world. We have musicians like Burna boy, Wizkid, Davido selling out big venues in foreign countries and you see music fans singing along word for word in a language they probably do not understand.

I look forward to attending a studio session with one of the guys to see how they produce their music. Thanks for reading and remember to tell me a song you think I should listen to which is in your local dialect.

3
$ 5.11
$ 5.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @MichaelBCH
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

Music is indeed unifying. I seldom listen to any songs other than hip hop and blues, but I have seen people vibing to songs, even when the language in use isn't one they know

$ 0.00
1 year ago