A sober Christmas Spirit

4 34
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

It looks like the economic state of things is really affecting the festive spirit this year. I live in Nigeria which is a multicultural, and multi religious country and although it is December with Christmas and the new year celebrations drawing closer, the atmosphere doesn't seem like it.

I remember in the past there's always a thrill towards anticipating this time of the year and even sometimes you can feel the celebratory mood amongst people even from the month of November. People would've started making plans to travel to their hometowns to celebrate with extended family.

Although I'm not a Christian and I also don't know how this period is in other countries, but for Nigerians a whole lot of plans are usually put towards the end of the year which sometimes does not necessarily involve Christmas. Majorly weddings, yearly meetings amongst others are scheduled for the December period simply because it's the only time when you're assured that most family members will be free from work.

And Nigerians love their parties, so everyone from wherever they reside in the country or abroad will come together to celebrate as one big family. I think this is one of the reasons why the Christmas feels extra, because it's not just your immediate family but extended members you've not seen the whole year.

This year although many have travelled and some are preparing to do the same, the spirit is quite sober and not as lively as it used to be. Alot of this is due to incrased cost if living generally and when you're worried about where to get the next meal, partying is probably down on the list of priorities.

I hope the atmosphere and mood improved in the next few days because I already miss the sound of fireworks that would've been music during the day and also hounding your sleep during the night.

I absolutely love anything that has to do with fun especially with family. I also love the food that comes with these celebrations. A friend once said *I eat chicken all the time but Christmas day chicken is different* and I couldn't help but agree with him. There's just that difference when everyone is present with you.

Many people had plans of traveling but prices for transportation have skyrocketed but nevertheless i believe something as trivial as transportation fare has never stopped Nigerians from enjoying what they love.

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of HazMatQdEe
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HazMatQdEe
1 year ago

Comments

E choke! Even till now I don't know if I'll travel or not because of how things are. The cost of living is really telling on us and I think if it continues like this, Christmas might be postponed in years to come 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol I can relate. Wanted to travel this week but when u heard the price I had to postpone till January when things mightve changed a bit

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i guess it was the inflation that affected everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True a lot of basic services have all increased in price and this is affecting the everyday life

$ 0.00
1 year ago