What is a Masternode?

0 21
Avatar for HattyHats
2 years ago

I have wondered this for a long time. Every time I would hear this word the hair on the back of my neck would go up because I have been trying to figure out how to run a Masternode and the word just excites me for some reason.

So this is what I get when I search "What is a Masternode" on google.

Sounds intriguing, doesn't it...

Every time I search, I end up finding things that are way beyond my computer skills.

Coinswitch had one of the best explanations and how-to's I have found so far.

So after reading this I am pumped. I am thinking "Man I bet I can run a Masternode. How hard could it be.". So I go to work and start looking up what I need and how to do it. This is when things get interesting.

My hopes and dreams are crushed when I do my very first search.

I wanted to run a Dash masternode because I like the Crypto and to be honest, it was the first on the list on Coinswitch ; ). I searched how to run a Masternode for Dash and this is what I came up with...

So this makes Dash out of the picture. I knew it would be difficult but I did not know it would be as difficult as this. I am going to give it a try here soon but I wanted to see if any other Masternodes might be a little easier and cheaper. So I guess only the rich can run Masternodes because right now 1000 Dash is worth $277,000! So on to the next search!

The next Masternode I was interested in learning about and maybe running was Zcoin. I like what the project stands for and what it is about, so I started doing some research. This is what I found...

This is what came up when I searched on Google. I thought maybe XZC is cheaper and I could afford to start a Masternode. 1000 XZC right now is worth around $4,900! This is starting to get frustrated.

I would like to contribute but it is looking like I will not be able to. I do not have the computing power to mine, so I am looking at other ways to contribute and earn a little for the future. I believe in Crypto and want to help it grow. So on to the last search. I am doing this research while I write this so you are pretty much learning with me.

So I checked multiple other ones and all about the same thing. So running a Masternode pretty much means you have to have a good amount of whatever Crypto to run their masternode. I am still in the process of learning so if anyone has any information about any easier ways or other ways I can get into the world of Crypto.

I had a good time trying to get my foot farther into Crypto. Learning about Crypto is never-ending because Crypto is an ever-evolving world that is still in its infant years. I love the idea of Crypto, and I really do not care if I make any money but if I am part of a community that is trying to change the way our money system works I am all for it.

Like I said earlier in this post, if you know anything more please leave a comment and push me in the right direction.

Another promising project I have been looking into running a masternode that sounds like it could be somewhat easier than the other ones is NetBox.

The only problem I have with this is the amount you need which is 10,000 NBX. This is in $ is over $1,000 right now. The staking is amazing, so I have been using that for now until I make a decision about running this masternode. I have a computer I can sit plugged in running 24/7 but I need to know the project is safe and willing to pay something worth the effort.

I hope you have enjoyed my article. I am still in the learning process and would love to hear everyone's feedback about running a masternode and any good and bad stories you have. I have been interested in this for a long time!

I hope you have an amazing day and thanks for taking the time to read my article!

Lead image by https://cointradecx.blog/bitcoin/masternode-entenda-o-que-significa-e-seu-potencial-de-investimento/

1
$ 0.92
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of HattyHats
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HattyHats
2 years ago

Comments