Hard work never goes waste

2 10
Avatar for Hasnain62
3 years ago

The story of Abdul Samad, the youngest scientist at Cambridge University, who was told by a school principal in Karachi, "It would be better if you go to the village and help your father on the land."

Residents of Baleda, a remote village in the backward district of Kich in Pakistan's Balochistan province, would never have imagined that the son of a middle-class landowner in their area would become a scientist working on space technology and his department at Cambridge University in the UK. To be the youngest Senior Research Scientist and Fellow

Is going to

I belong to an area where there was not much tradition of education but there will be only a handful of people in the whole area who can read letters etc.

My father and mother never saw the face of school, but since childhood they wanted us to read and write. We are landowners and we have enough land, but our land does not produce what it should have.

So I can't describe what my mother used to do to meet my needs. What's more, my father remembered some of Iqbal's poems that he used to recite to me and my brothers all the time, which gave him courage.

Seeing my interest in studies, my father took us to Lyari area of ​​Karachi.

When I first went to Karachi, believe me, I felt like it was another world. I was amazed at the people, the cars, the traffic and the lights. Seeing the lights on at night made me feel as if I had arrived in a city of lights.

He enrolled in an Urdu medium school in Lyari but soon realized that it was not possible to make progress unless his English was good.

After realizing this situation, I told my father that I had to enroll in an English medium school. My father took me to a reputed school in Clifton, Karachi, which was beyond his means, but he liked me. So I decided to teach there.

I was a country boy who didn't know much about urban methods, but I had the confidence of my parents and the courage to do something. On this occasion, the principal interviewed me in her office in the presence of my father and started talking to me in English, although my father had earlier told the principal that he wanted to be admitted here because his English could be better. The situation was that I did not know English but understood.

First asked my name in English to which I answered in Urdu. Then he asked what Dad did. I said work on the land. Thus he asked some more questions, some of which he understood and some of which he did not.

Maybe they didn't like my answer in Urdu even though I had tried to tell them that if I got admission I would work hard. But still he finally told me, "It would be better if you go to the village and help your father on the land."

These were the words that brought tears to my eyes while my father was staring at me. I was a seventh grader at the time. My heart was broken. But my training was different. I was taught a lesson of courage and determination.

It came to my mind that it is necessary to learn English. Banners and posters of an English medium school were displayed in Lyari. I asked my father to enroll me in this school.

I tried to learn English myself, sometimes he would read an English newspaper, sometimes he would read a grammar book. I also studied with the help of the school teachers. Although it was a small school, some teachers taught very hard.

When there were matriculation exams, people encouraged me to copy but I refused saying that I want the fruits of my labor and the fruits of my labor are not wasted. That was my mother's advice to me and that's what happened. When the result of matriculation came, my A1 grade came.

I matriculated in 2003 and at the end of the same year there was no difficulty in getting admission in DG Science College Karachi. Renowned scientist Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan was also a student of this college.

During FSC, I also taught tuition because obviously I could not put so much burden on my parents but the other reason was that I was interested in teaching and research. I thought that if I taught I would learn more and so it happened.

The FSC series went on like this and when the result came, I got A1 grade here too.

After FSC, he took entrance test for admission in Ghulam Ishaq Khan Institute of Engineering Science and Technology in Swabi, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa. Preparations were complete, so I passed the entrance test brilliantly and got 100% scholarship.

My brothers practically abandoned education. He was running a small business from which he sent me a reasonable amount of money every month. This amount was enough for a student like me who was all focused on education while university education was on scholarship.

This means that the problems that started after coming to Karachi in the seventh class were over after doing FSC and getting admission in the university and the journey of success had started.

A: If I am involved in research, then in fact it was the encouragement and encouragement of Professor Fazal Ahmad Khalid (Sitara-e-Imtiaz) at Ghulam Ishaq Khan Institute that I decided at university that I should be involved in research.

I graduated from the university in 2009 and started working in Engro Polymers and Chemicals Karachi in the same year. Worked for a year. During this time I kept in touch with various research and higher education scholarship programs and institutions, after which I was offered scholarships from Japan, Korea, Canada, Germany, USA and Abu Dhabi.

The best offer for M.Phil and research came from Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi, with the support of MIT University in the United States. Secondly, his honorarium during research was like a good salary, which is why I accepted it.

After that, he did research and completed his PhD in many international institutions, including the University of Tokyo, on a scholarship.

During my PhD, my research was mostly on a substance called graphene, which was used to make various instruments. The research was published in several international journals. When my research was published, I received various offers from USA, Abu Dhabi, UK and Tokyo. My research was well received by a prominent Cambridge University scientist who offered me a job there.

By the way, the best offer in terms of salary and benefits was from Abu Dhabi, but now my goal was not to pay but to reach the next destination. So I accepted the offer from Cambridge University because I had to work in the field of research and perhaps the best research facilities and environment in the world are available at Cambridge University where scientists like Newton and Stephen Hawking come from. Have also been attached.

After working as a research scientist at Cambridge for two years, I have had the opportunity to work as a senior research scientist. I don't know, but it is said that two years is too short to go from research scientist to senior scientist in Cambridge, and I also think that I am the youngest senior scientist there.

After moving to Cambridge, he teamed up with many European companies and space agencies to build space technology-related devices. To test these devices, spacecraft and satellites are periodically launched, including parabolic flights, sounding rockets and other spacecraft. Graphene also had the opportunity to be carried into space for the first time.

Various investigations are also underway in which in addition to the sensors, work is also underway on how to fill the gap in the body if it is injured.

In addition, they are launching a project for Pakistani students in collaboration with some UK organizations in which they are trying to provide them with satellite facilities. If I had the chance, I would be proud to go and work in my own country.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Hasnain62
3 years ago

Comments

Various investigations are also underway in which in addition to the sensors, work is also underway on how to fill the gap in the body if it is injured.

In addition, they are launching a project for Pakistani students in collaboration with some UK organizations in which they are trying to provide them with satellite facilities. If I had the chance, I would be proud to go and work in my own country.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I belong to an area where there was not much tradition of education but there will be only a handful of people in the whole area who can read letters etc.

My father and mother never saw the face of school, but since childhood they wanted us to read and write. We are landowners and we have enough land, but our land does not produce what it should have.

So I can't describe what my mother used to do to meet my needs. What's more, my father remembered some of Iqbal's poems that he used to recite to me and my brothers all the time, which gave him courage.

$ 0.00
3 years ago