The night is the best time to Fish

12 130
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

It was my first night in the university, finally I can experience how the night thrills are. I was reading a novel on my bed when Three of my coursemates came to me. "Happy let's go and fish, don't you know the night is the best time to fish?" one of them shouted from the hostel corridor. "Is there a river in school where people people fish? " I asked myself.

Quickly I picked up my shirt and sprayed a little perfume.

"Okay guys where are the hooks and lines?" I asked

The three burst into laughter and looked at me as if I was a clown showcasing his stunts.

" what we mean is that, let's go out in search of girls to woo" Pedro of one the three said. Not to look like a novice I smiled as if I knew what it was before asking, i agreed and together we left the hostel.

Okay, let me give a quick introduction, I'm an 100 level student of the University of Naija , but my first semester was spent as a day student. I come from home and immediately after class I'm always the first person to leave, in fact if you ask some of my coursemates if they know who Happy is , they will say "No".

After much persuasion my ever protective parents decided that I can move to the school hostel. Luckily I was allocated "Bimpe hall" which is at the heart of the school, and also home to Three of my coursemates and also the most popular guys in class.

The first of the three- "Seleem", is from a rich home, the ladies man, tall , smart and handsome.

The second, "Pedro" is what we call"not ugly and not handsome guy" but his greatest asset is his accent, he was born in Spain before relocating down here, and surely knows how to use it to his advantage around girls.

And the Third one "Levi" is not only intelligent but popular, hardly do you walk with him without him being hailed by his ever increasing fans.

We decided to go to the main campus, for that's where most of the female hostels are situated. The light from the street lights illuminated the roads, various cars drove by with loud music blaring from their speakers.

"See dem, just intimidating someone, dem be yahoo boys o, dey won kon use car entice our girls go" Pedro lamented, we all laughed at his failed attempt to speak in pidgin.

"Okay, let's do it this way, any girl that passes, Happy will walk up to her and get her number, the next girl I will go and so on" Seleem whispered.

"I'm not okay with cat-calling girls, it has never been my thing" I replied.

"You are not cat-calling anyone, just walk up to them, get their number ,just to show us that you're a man and you're not afraid" he countered back

Sweat started forming all over my face, but not one to give in without a fight I replied-

" So by walking up to a girl and getting her phone number, that's how I show I am a man eh?"

With feign annoyance, I added -

"You know what?, I'm not the type that objectify women, I will just turn back and go to my room"

"Hey! Calm down man, you are taking this out of proportion, he only asked you to get a girl's number, nothing more, it's okay if you don't wish to, we will just fish alone" Levi shouted with annoyance.

With my head bowed in shame, I continued walking with them, but my mind was no longer at rest , I was imagining the kind of words I will hear Tomorrow when Pedro explain everything to everyone in class , he will surely add more spice to it which I'm sure will make me the number one topic in class for weeks.

I was determined to redeem myself ,but how do I go about it, I find it hard talking to my female coursemates, in fact most of them call me "gay" to my face, how on earth am I going to walk up to a girl that I don't know and ask for her number?

" Holy shit! " Seleem shouted , "Opor Opor" Levi added. Their shout brought me out of my mini trance. I look around to see the reason why they are shouting so loud. Ahead of us was a lady Pedro like to call, "The 8th day Creation", yes! a day after God was well rested, she is perfect in all angle.

Pedro whispered "Seleem this girl is giving you the green light, can't you see the way she's walking slowly, she's into you already, better shoot your shot before-"

"Shut up Mr.Man , don't you see this girl is not for small 100 level boys like us, this one is way out of our league, If i go to her i will surely come back with her finger Mark's tattooed on my face" Seleem cut it

"Hahahaha, don't tell me you are missing this opportunity " Levi queried

"You know what I will get her number" i said. The Three of them stopped working and look at me as if I were some alien that just dropped from space

"Yes I will get her number, you just wait and see" I added.

The three started laughing, pedro was even rolling on the floor, this got the attention of the girl , who looked back but after just a glance our way , continued walking .

I hasten up my steps, with my heart pounding ,determined to prove to my guys that I'm no coward. With determination I walked fast like a boxer ready to corner his opponent.

Few steps away from her, all form of adrenaline and Confidence departed me, early I described as one created on the 8th day, I'm sorry that way an understatement.

I am sure a day is not enough for a girl like that to be created , it must have been the 8th, 9th and 10th day . Her skin shines like that of a day old baby, I checked her head to see her crown because she must be a Queen out on a stroll.

"How may I help you? Or are you going to stand there with mouth opened?" She said.

I closed my mouth which I didn't know was opened all these while and tried to talk but words weren't coming out, I looked back and saw my friends looking at me with a mixture of amusement, awe and expectations. Just that I am sure their expectations was for me to receive a thunderous slap from her.

I summoned enough confidence and said "Hi"

"Hello, how may I help you, i repeat"

At this stage my regained confidence flew out again, her Angelic voice surely has an effect on me. Quickly I knew this is a lost battle, the best thing I can do is to use the "Truth call" . This, i read in a book was the best way to save oneself from further embarrassment when approaching a lady.

"Please ma'am I'm very sorry to approach you this way, the thing is my friends at the back, you must have seen them earlier, dared me to walk up to a girl and get her number, but I'm the very shy type I don't think I can ever do that, please I don't know if it's possible for you to collect my phone and pretend as if you are inputting your number" I replied.

The words came out of my mouth in a rush that I doubted if she heard me.

"Please I'm so sorry for the embarrassment but I'll be happy if you can-" my words were cut short by her smile and outstretched hands asking for my phone.

"Wait! am I dreaming or is she trying to fool me?, won't she collect my phone and hit it on the floor?" I said to myself

With shaking hands I gave her the phone, and when she returned it back to me I was shocked to see her Number boldly on the screen. Please if I'm dreaming , someone better wake me up.

"Save it as Comfort" she said with yet another smile.

Please call the ambulance, Happy is going to faint anytime soon.

"Thank you, thank you, thank you" I shouted.

"Let me go back to my friends now" I added

She spread her hands for a hug, trust your boy Happy, I happily ran into it like a baby starved of care. I don't care if this looks weird but nothing no longer matters.

With my shoulders higher, steps slow, hands in pocket, I worked down to my friends. The look on their face was worth everything. I felt like kai Havertz after scoring the winning goal of the UCL.

"Na fake number she give you" Levi feebly said.

I decided to call the number and from afar Comfort turned back and waved. That was the Final nail on the coffin. They all started shouting and hailing me.

Till today, I'm still regarded in class as the boldest and the run to guy for advice on women matters. And I do make sure I dish out great advice to them from my wealth of experience , hahaha. Only if they know I'm not what they think I am.

Tomorrow, it will be our 3 years anniversary. Oh! I didn't tell you, I later messaged Comfort that night to thank her, what was meant to be a "Thank you message", turned to a "Date planning chat" and from there we started dating. I'm thankful I went out to "Fish" that night hahahaha.

Pidgin, Slangs and other Nigerian words are used in the story, feel free to ask for meanings to those you don't understand .

My next story will be about my Noisecash lover, before the story, expect articles about other topics

Till next time guys byeeee🤗

14
$ 15.11
$ 14.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.09 from @Princessbusayo
+ 1
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I had a wonderful time reading your article tho. So nice!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks Maria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅🤣😅 this is wonderful and funny.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks BabeT

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yaayyy😍 kilig feels😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have a rumor that this story was fiction. I may right? I've waiting this for a long time. Thank you so much for the good story! More power to you my friend.

-Your friend from the Philippines

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes it is, it's the combination of what happened on my first night in school and a little addiction. So I can so it's 60% True, 40% Fiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait, is this fiction or your real story? Because if it is ahahaha, then lucky you kid ahahaha. And I feel omoo, this one is just light and ahahaha, romancey romancey 😉🤩🤩

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It's 60% real and 40% ... I added a little sweet ending to it🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ny, I love it. It's light and sweet 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks Rachael

$ 0.00
2 years ago