Freedom

8 66
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

I am Pending the Article I promised for now, I accepted a challenged from @Princessbusayo to talk about what Freedom means to me, I will try as much as possible to make it short and reasonable, then I will dropped the promised article Tomorrow. Now straight to business.

What I thought Freedom was-

Growing up,Freedom was the biggest desire I wanted. I looked forward to the day I will be on my own, I won't have to listen to anyone, I can stay out till midnight without caring about anyone questioning me, I can buy whatsoever I wish to buy with my money because I will be working by then and will be earning millions not in Naira but Dollars. That was what Freedom was to me.

The strict upbringing and numerous punishments received for an offence made me desire "my" freedom to the extent that I wished a year will be equivalent to five.

I was given "my" freedom when I was in high school , though it was partial, it was enjoyable while it lasted, I thirst for the full freedom, I don't have to go back home each day after school, I don't want a type of freedom that involves listening to orders from my parents- I want my freedom to be in Full, to be beyond boundaries. Little did I know that what i desire is not freedom but foolishness.

Photo credit: unsplash.com

The freedom came in full when I got into the institution, but it didn't come alone, it came with responsibilities and duties. At first it was fun, the act of taking big decisions was so New that I give myself praises after each task. I'm sure you are wondering what the "big decisions" were, not to worry I will tell you. Waking up in the morning and deciding on the choice of food to eat was an achievement and a big moment for me, I rejoice and took joy in sampling various cooking style but it all ended as a disaster. Buying whatsoever I want even when there is something of more importance was fun- risky but fun. The long nights-out I craved for , the clothes and shoes I dreamed of became nothing compared to the new desires.

Realisation that what have always wanted wasn't the true definition started hitting me, I begin to appreciate what my Parents were doing and realised my freedom was never taken away from me. Of course right from High school we were taught what freedom was and even the different rights of citizens of the Nation Nigeria, which was filled with different types of freedom:

  • Freedom of speech

  • Freedom of association

  • Right to fair hearing

  • Right to Freedom of Thought, Conscience and Religion

  • Right to freedom of movement

  • Right to vote and be voted for & many more

We were taught these and though we memorize it for the sake of examination , what freedom really means for us an an individual was unknown to us. Though subjective, freedom can be generally said to be the power or right to speak or act as one wants or wishes.

What I believe freedom his now

Freedom is something that doesn't come easy, you have to fight for it, it isn't given to one freely, you have to break yourself from the shackles preventing your freedom.

Financial freedom: This involve having enough cash , assets, investments to fund the kind of life one desires. I said early that freedom isn't given freely, for one to be have financial freedom, one have to make some sacrifices, deprive yourself of somethings, fight off so many obstacles. It's the desire of everyone to be financially okay, and this does not just come easily, the importance of money cannot be over emphasized, so it's no surprise when everyone desires it. We want to have more than enough of it.

Freedom from Bondage : This can come in different ways, being free from slavery, free from emotional slavery is what everyone desires
Not being compelled or constrained by either the Government or an individual is what we struggle for every day.

I can go on and on about what I now see freedom as but I don't want to bore you with my stories as I promised. So I'm passing on the touch by

Imchallenging @Rachael @greatwolf @Tbaby @Adewale to also write what Freedom means to them. Tag @JonicaBradley to your article

Challenge rules:

  1. Write about Freedom

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words

  4. Tag me @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun

Bye for now🤗

Special thanks to my New sponsors

@tired_momma

@jane

@bmjc98

God bless you all

8
$ 11.62
$ 11.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 4
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

So interesting and I am glad you accepted the challenge too. We all want freedom but we thought it was free like that not knowing there are responsibilities waiting for us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It was fun writing it, thanks for the invite🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for mentioning me. I'll try to come up with something soon. :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you ma, looking forward to it🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was too fast to write an article. Nice one..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you ma, I thought I was meant to reply the challenge within 24hours, hence the rush.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for taking part in the challenge. It seems to be a theme that when we are children we want to be free of our parents, but when we grow up, we want to be free like children.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Exactly! We didn't know how pleasant it is , until we grow older

$ 0.00
2 years ago