He'll come back

4 32
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I'm on break lol and I had time to edit from my drafts OwO but I'm not wven making a dent in my notifs but oh well


[WP] She sat on the old, wooden bench like she did everyday... waiting for him to come back. He had promised to come back.


She’s been there for as long as I could remember. Since my childhood, this lady had sat there on that very bench. I wasn’t sure since when she had started sitting there but never did a day pass without having to see her there on that very wooden bench.

Even now, as I near my 24th birthday, I still see her but compared to before, now she comes with a bag of crumbs or old bread that are to be fed to the pigeons that have now become her companions. At times I would find her with some cans of animal feed and she opens them whenever she sees the stray cats and dogs start to approach her. I always wondered why she offered nothing for a human companion or if she ever had any to begin with. It wasn’t that she looked crazy, on the contrary, she always came clean and rather presentable. Always dress in what I presumed could be called her best clothes. Always with those classic 80s style pencil skirts, a cardigan then some thick coat now to protect herself from the cold.

------

On such a day that I had thought would be my most unfortunate one yet, I decided to go for a stroll in the park near my house, the very one she had always gone to then maybe on a whim, I asked her why she always sat on this old wooden bench and if she did not have any form of companion

“You see, dearie. I’m still waiting for him to come back. My guardian angel”

“Your guardian angel? You mean a beloved that promised to protect you” I was curious to hear people nowadays speak of guardian angels when the thought had long perished, but with a shake of her and a soft chuckle, she simply went on with her train of thoughts.

“He was a real guardian angel. One whose wings were much larger than his body was. The feathers seemed so soft and white as snow and he definitely looked inhuman to me when we first met.”

“Where did you meet?” She was definitely catching my attention with her words. It wasn’t every day that I would hear one speak of angels like they had actually seen one, and if she did, maybe she would be able to confirm my questions about the creatures

“The first time was whenI was in my 20s... “ She placed her hand on her temple, creasing the wrinkles a bit as she seemed as though she was remembering the details “When I ran away from my marriage. He was the one who told me what to do  without having to harm anyone else. You see, the man I was wed to was an evil man. And so many times he would beat me. The angel freed me. He helped me escape and told me where to run away to.”

To me it sounded like some typical story of a poor wife but I continued to listen to her story

“When I arrived at the place he told me to go to, he said he was waiting for me since I was reincarnated, can you believe that?” Amusement showed on her features and she chuckled a bit as she gazed sadly at the tree standing just across the old bench.

“You must have been his beloved in each lifetime you had”

“He said the same thing too. Quite the sweet talker for an angel, really but I could feel the truth in his words. Anyways, from there on, he helped me establish a new home here”

“Wait, here?In this town?”

She nodded then pointed to the quaint, white house that could be seen from the park entrance. “He tried to live as a human for as long as he could.” Her voice grew weak, as if she was saddened by something

“What happened to the angel though?”

“He was killed”

Shock was all I felt in that moment and I looked at her, she seemed to be on the verge of tears.

“It seemed the man I was wed to… he was a demon. One night when we were walking through this park, he appeared” She was gripping onto the hem of her cardigan, maybe to fight back the tears, maybe to calm herself “He was furious that I left him for an angel. They fought but no one won. They both died”

She reached for her pocket, pulling out a white handkerchief but something peculiar caught my eye and it was the large white feather that fell from her pocket. I leaned down to pick it up as she busied herself with drying her tears. Just as I made contact with the feather, fragments of memory came flooding into my head. Of whose, I couldn’t tell whose memory it was but I saw the lady. In this lifetime and in so many other lifetimes before this one.

“We both died, me and that demon first husband of yours. But I gave you this so you could find me again” I twirled the feather in my hands, gazing at it intently “And you even waited for me for so long.I’m so sorry, my love”

Her tears came pouring down harder. The lady was sobbing and I couldn’t do anything but to pull her into my embrace in the hopes of calming her down

“You finally remembered me… It took you a good 20 years.” She teased as her hold on me tightened

“I’m sorry, this was the divine punishment I received as soon as the Gods heard of what I did. You will always be beautiful to me.Those 20 years are nothing”

She had finally calmed down after a while and I let go of her but not completely. I couldn’t hold onto her frame properly in this body but I could still hold her hand like the countless times that we’ve done. Our next concern would be how to tell the boy’s parents that I intend to marry her this time around. Something I wasn’t allowed to do in my previous life as a divine being.

-----

Will hope to draw otw home later but if I can't then oh well

6
$ 3.07
$ 3.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
$ 0.02 from @charmingcherry08
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

But why can't a demon be the true love for a change? Angels are so creepy. ☹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll try to write about that another time. I like angels though. I like the wings mostly

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He met his guardian angel again. A long wait.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was but such is the fault in reincarnation. you always have to wait for it to come no matter how strong the feelings are

$ 0.00
3 years ago