Goodbye my love

14 35
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

[WP] The main character happily sacrifices their happiness daily, even when it comes to true love.

[SP] "You know, I loved once. Let me tell you about it."


On most nights, I would sit idly at the local pub, spending the night drinking scotch or bourbon in some unoccupied corner. Rare was it for people to ever want to keep me company. For in their eyes, I was simply a miserable old aged man, waiting to receive a visit from death. I’ve become senile, my siblings say on the rare times I would receive a visit. Maybe I did. 

As I leaned back in my seat, I pulled out a cigarette stick and trapped it in between my lips. Ah, I forgot about the matchbox. I checked my pockets and looked around my seat and table, hoping I really didn’t forget it at work. 

I was about to ask the bartender for any kind of match or lighter he had but before I could get up from my seat, a small flame flickered in front of the cigar that was protruding from my lips. My gaze followed the hand that held the lighter, only to find a young man offering a small smile.

“I thought you needed a light” was what the young man said before I muttered a small thanks and leaned in to get the tip lit. I inhaled the smoke deeply, the familiar sensation of the minty smoke filling my lungs for a few moments before exhaling everything out.  “May I sit here? The other occupants… don’t seem like they’ll be willing to have their conversations disturbed…” 

I only offered a nod and gestured for him to take the seat opposite from me. “So what’s a youngin' like ya doin in a place like this?” 

He immediately slumped in his seat as soon as I finished my question. He seemed to contemplate for a bit “I just want to be happy. But I don’t think the world wants me to be” 

I offered the other glass of scotch towards him, that to which he took gratefully and downed the contents in one go. “ Ya know, life is unfair. No matter what ya do, nothin will  ever really belong to ya.” He looked up at me, agreement seemed to be the most evident emotion there before he exhaled a heavy sigh.

"When I was bout’ yer age,  I was always told to share cuz I was the eldest. My favorite treats were never something I could have for me self. We were never that wealthy so sweets were a luxury.” I laughed inwardly at the memory, the boy had seemed to lighten up so I proceeded with my story. 

“On the rare times that my parents could ever get extra funds from their measly jobs, they would buy as sweet breads or doughnuts and of course, having 5 other siblings, it wasn’t a pleasure to be sharin, especially when they still be complainin about wantin more. In those times, I would give up my share so they shut their yappin traps” 

He breathed out a soft chuckle, the buzz seemed to be hitting him faster than I expected

“I never had anything like that but the girl I loved… I didn’t want to ever let her go. But I think… she’ll be happier with my best friend. They deserve each other” A bitter smile crossed his lips as he poured more whiskey into his now empty glass. 

“Ya know, I loved once too. Lemme tell ya ‘bout it” I took another long drag of the cigar then exhaled it as I spoke “She was er'thyn to me. That beauty, brains, wits, and that rockin hot bod too. I really thought t’was gonna be me and her til the end. Til the war broke out and I was called to the army. Duty over me love was the biggest decision ever, ya’know?” 

I gazed up to see him nodding before taking another swig of the whisky in his glass “But did you ever see her after your service?” 

“Sure I did. Still the stunnin beauty that she was even after 2 years, ya’ know” it was my turn to let out a heavy sigh as I recalled the heavy memory “But she ain’t herself when I came back. Told me she found happiness in another. T’was like the bread thing with my siblings again. I just smiled at her and told her to be happy, that she ain’t need ta worry ‘bout lil ol me. Went back to the army, sacrificed my youth, freedom and happiness just ta stop the war, ya’know. Typical soldier sob story” 

By the time I had glanced at him, he was already snoozing on the table. Guess the kid couldn’t handle his liquor well. I stood up and checked around his pockets for a phone. The moment I found it, I raised his head a bit to unlock the device with the face recognition then looked through his contacts to see who could come pick him up or if anybody could tell me where he lives. After some time scrolling through weird names, a message from the contact “Mom” popped on the screen and instead of replying, I called. 

“Hello ma’am, yer son is knocked out at a pub,mind tellin me where he lives or if ya could pick em up or somethin?” 

When the woman spoke, the oddly familiar voice seemed like a melody to me. It was her. 

“E-Ed? Is that you? Is that really you?” She sounded happy yet nervous at the same time “My son’s with you? I’ll pick him up, tell me where that pub is” 

I told her the address and apologized for not being able to drive him myself since I drank a bit too. In a matter of minutes she was already there, looking as beautifully as she did the last time I saw her.  “Ya haven’t changed” 

“And you’ve really changed. Thank you for being good to my son. I’ll pay you for your troubles” 

I shook my head  in a no then helped her carry her son to her car, awkward silence filled the air until I finally spoke up “Hey, were ya ever happier with Jake?” 

“I was, but-” before she could finish her train of thoughts, I cut her off

“Then that’s enough for me” I could see a hint of pity in her eyes but I simply offered her the same smile I did so many years ago when we last spoke. “I wish you happiness again and hopefully ya get yer son outta trouble. The kid’s goin through a rough time with the girl he loved” 

Her attention turned to the boy that was now  lying in the backseat of her car. I made my escape. I heard her voice calling at me from a distance but I didn't turn back. She was happy and that was all that mattered. For the second time, I had to say goodbye to my love.


11
$ 1.16
$ 1.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

This sad story hit harddd 🥺😭 I didn't expect that twist 😭😭

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm getting good at combining prompts then OwO huehuehue

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The history was sad. Always goodbye love stories, that's really life. Everyone always have to say goodbye. The boy could have been his own son and he could have been in his son's life advising him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it could have been but then I doubt it was. They weren't married yet when he left for the army, nor did they engage in those kinds of activities for her to bear a child with him

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why did he have to shut the girl without her letting her finished? Gosh! Maybe they could be reunited if she was able to finish lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's what I call the scaredy cats that kind of lost all hope in finding happiness or love, so they'll just run away. mga ganung peg kasi meron talaga :'''

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah yes sabagay mga duwag people are like that 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sad ng ganun, yung mga di ka kaya ipaglaban :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's a but, come on Ossan why aren't yah listening? What if that boy was your son and that hot babe with a rockin' bod was still available coz that Jake was an assss. 😑 Sana pinatapos nya muna si Madam ano, or baka tapos na talaga, wala ng pag asa? She's happy when she saw yah Ossan, think!!!

Wala na kasunod? Tapos na? Ehhhh 😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you know how some people just think na "as long as they're happy, wala nang dapat pag usapan?" there's some people like that. mga takot pang pahabain kasi baka makahanap ng dahilan para and mawala resolve nila or something

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How about him, even if there's only 1 percent chance na maging sila ulit sana grab nya, kaso di sya nakikinig pano kung good news pala yong sasabihin di sspend nya nalang yong buhay nyang may paniniwala pa rin sa "as long as you happy chenes." Bago sa huli pag nalaman nya na anak pala nya si boya mag wa what if what if sya, tssss 😑, omoo nadadala ako ng aking emosyon 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How i wish it's his son😁. He must not be in a hurry to leave maybe there's something the woman has to say. 😊Im being like @ruffa in here🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also thinking kaso the old man is scared lang talaga, I think he just wants to keep her happy image in his head plus he doesn't want na may maawa sa kanya, especially her

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oi, yan din hula ko 😂 luhhh why that Ossan never listen y'know 😑

$ 0.00
3 years ago