From waste to medicine

82 81
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

In light of today's successful event, I thought of sharing my research here and hope that it would interest you as it interested me to pursue it

So I know all of us consume fast foods, either as daily meals or as celebratory ones. And I know that oil is a common household item too. Cooking oil is useful, yeah but then did you ever wondered what happened after it's used? when it's all black and burnt? well usually it will be thrown to waste. That's the common household practice but did you ever think of where it goes?

well it comes out as grease, it clogs pipes, adds to the cause of floods and even renders some soils such as that plot of land useless. It's good if it gets recycled properly, it gets turned into biodiesel or as soaps but then there could be more use to it. What if it could be turned to cheap antimicrobial medicines? cheaper than that in the market? then would't that move people to dispose of their waste oils properly?

But what medicine? How can burnt, dirty cooking oil turn into antimicrobials?

Palmitic acid (the common compound in palm oil, one of the most used kind of cooking oil)

Well you break it down. Oils are still made of carbon, a very interesting element. but carbon isn't what we're after. What we're after is Carbon quantum dots. It's the nano (really small) version of carbon that exhibits much more unique properties than bulk carbon. What makes them different is they fluoresce (which makes them great for sensors and for bioimaging and cancer cell detection), they absorb energy much better (which is why they are gaining interest in the field of solar panels), they make great antimicrobial agent too at lower the risk (because they can degrade with body heat, thus lower chance of accumulated toxicity). Plus the fact that it's carbon (the main element that constitutes a human, it makes for great biocompatibility to us, even with animals. It won't cause us harm and it can be modified to fit our needs. Fascinating, right?

Why would we even need this though?

well, if you're aware of the current standing of antibiotics in the medical field, you would know that almost all strains of microbes have already developed a resistance to all those antibiotics (1) because they already exist in nature in trace amounts, (2) because we abuse these drugs, we keep taking it when we don't even need to. We even take it without prescription and without knowing if it will really work or not. Then when we do get a prescription (3) we don't follow through with the prescription because we either feel better or because the meds are expensive. Believe me, they are but it will do you more harm than you think. It could lead to the meds not working anymore. So in light of that, This is where carbon dots come into play because microbes don't know this yet. plus developing resistance to this antimicrobial is unlikely because of how easy it is to modify it.

These were the last trials I managed to synthesize in the laboratory before the lockdown. It makes me happy with how brightly they fluoresce.

Then here's my animal trial ;-; I hated because I had to hurt the mice but I still treated the wound. But you can see that after 2 weeks of treatment, the mouse didn't die plus it gave the same effect as the over the counter drug, vancomycin. I don't think mechanisms should be explained here though

I also cried because I had to kill the micee while extracting blood just to finish my toxicity test with the mouse blood ;-; Luckily the mice didn't die in vain because I didn't observe any apoptosis (cell death) until about... 200ppm of concentrated solution (so this means even just a little bit of this can be used to treat a wound and/or infections, no need to buy a lot thus it also limits cost). Plus what's good is that my model bacteria and fungi here died at such low concentrations so it makes me proud because it's really effective

So this is basically what keeps me busy! Thank you for reading about my weirdness up until here ;;u;;

32
$ 5.05
$ 4.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Macronald
$ 0.05 from @marcmire
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Wow. That is great work and finding. You spend you time quite productively. Keep it up and good luck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. This is what I do when I'm not drawing. But since it's lockdown and I can't go to the lab i tried doing this in the kitchen and i kind of... broke my microwave... then my mom banned me from turning the kitchen into a lab ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahah. You have a very innovative mind I must say. May be one day you will have an invention of you own

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm hoping for a laboratory first πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ so i stop making my mom mad with all the stuff I've done so far

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Don’t worry you will soon have a lab and all will turn up good. Never let you inner innventor die

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you think so 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah.. very interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me its not weird. I actually read all your science article πŸ’ž I am always excited to read it haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ah really? That makes me really happy, mommy 😊 though I'm still hoping to patent this to the local dost soon since animal trials work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Goodluck :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I have a question to asked haha. Maybe you had an explanation to my question or it is related to this article. Here in the province when a dog has a lot of wounds they applied a burnt diesel to their skin and its effective. The wounds got dry.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Well diesel has some bioethanol and a few other alcohols like butanol and propanol. The hydroxy or (-OH) Group (this is what makes alcohol alcohol) oxidizes the wound to make it dry up faster. It's not really safe, specially for animals because of toxicity reasons but it works at least

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is not safe pala. What about the gamot na pula? hahahaha. Dami ko tanong hahaha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Nope πŸ˜‚ wawa naman yung aso. I don't know that gamot na pula? Ano yun?

You just ask 😊 I don't mind the questions naman

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I search it in google. Its benzalkonium chloride.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Heck that's scary- and people still use that???? As like pure extracts??? I can understand if it's diluted to the level in the market but oof people use that? ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We leave wounds open unless a vet is needed. They say the spit of a dog disinfects. If you have a wound you should let your dog lick it. I am not so sure about that. If I see what a dog eats...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How can cooling oil get black and used? I wonder what kind of oil it is and what it is used for.

My oil is never black. Everything burned causes cancer. I am not fond of fast food. It's unhealthy and tasteless and too expensive for what's offered.

πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there's those oils that get overused from frying in it for way too many times, it just darkens because oil still carbonizes when you use it for cooking, mostly frying. It's a common event if you use palm or coconut oil like what we use here in the tropics.

Well that's good, you tty to eat healthy but then not everyone have the choice to do so

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, the oil for frying. I use sunflower oil but it never gets dark. I fry with a filter so food crumbs and rests can not get into the oil. I do not like grilled or burned food or the smell of it. It's dangerous to health to use it that many times. A part is in the food and what is left but gets more fat (thicker) I use for the wolves. It's still good though.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well sunflower oil has a different active ingredient plus if you really don't reuse the oil that much then of course it won't be burnt but then what about those in fast food chains and the low income households who really don't have much of a choice but to reuse the oils. That was actually what the material focus of this research is about. How does oil disposal work there though? Because here, people just throw it down the drain

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oil (cars etc) is chemical waste and you can take it to a waste station or if it comes to your car the car service keeps it.

I am poor too and still I buy new oil. If your oil is burned your food is burned too. If that happens I think the temperature is too high. Oils used for frying can be taken to the supermarkets who sell it. They have to take the used oil back. You fill the new bottles with it and take them to the container at the shop.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's the thing, we don't have those kinds of practices here, mostly what people do is just flush it down the toilet or sink. I'm pretty sure restaurants store their oils and ship them to the recyclers to become biodiesel but then i read that a lot of companies also just bury the oils underground, thus reducing soil quality. So as you can see, the treatment of oil here is very different from how it's treated there, which is why this is the key material in my research. I hope you see my point now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Educative

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Such a great mind🀧😁 i also experienced doing labs and research but i can't go with medicine since it's a long process and the testing will cost a lot and i can't handle animals as test lab🀧 but congratulations of the success of your invention I'm guessing you study in the field of medicine, you did greatπŸ‘β€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just find interest in nanotechnology but I study Chemistry. this study is basically still under materials science tbh and that is where my specialty lies πŸ˜‚ butwould you believe i finished this in just 2 months? So it's not that long a trial and synthesis period. What will take long is if i patent this and have it submitted for clinical trials

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have to patent it to ensure your discovery. World is full of monster and cheaters, what's yours might get stolen if you don't protect it. I love actually the chemistry of bloodπŸ˜… I want to be in a med field but due to certain circumstances i am not in that field but i want to pursue it soon❀ i guess your place provides quality education and special equipment and facilities that you managed finishing it and of course your skill is commendable. I salute😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love actually the chemistry of bloodπŸ˜… I want to be in a med field but due to certain circumstances i am not in that field but i want to pursue it soon. I'll be waiting for your study to be in the pharmacy❀ you have to patent it to ensure your discovery. World is full of monster and cheaters, what's yours might get stolen if you don't protect it. ❀ i guess your place provides quality education and special equipment and facilities that you managed finishing it and of course your skill is commendable. I salute you😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well actually, i just worked with wastes, an acid then a microwave oven. did so many trials then the consistency was nice

There's not much chemistry to the blood, really. It's all just sugar, cells and water so it really doesn't interest me much compared to how microbes interest me. But anyways, i hope i can publish this paper first so it can get patented the soonest

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ow resourceful love it❀ blood does amaze me you know doctors in blood appears great to me but i love anesthesiology really haha. Microbes indeed are complex yet interesting, you have such a great mind😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If i remember correctly, anesthesiologists focus on sedatives so it's not much on blood but rather on what attacks the senses faster. Blood chemistry honestly mostly talks about the sugars in the blood, which is the basis for blood typing plus the diseases in the blood

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes you're correct, they are responsible for checking if the patient is ready for operation, without their go signal operation or surgery cannot be carried out, they also manage the machines connected on the patient during the surgery. I want to be an Anesthesiologist and a doctor who specialize in blood at the same timeπŸ€—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's cool in a sense but then they're the most dangerous people that i wpuld probably meet in my lifetime XD makes me think of how easy it is for them to acquire those drugs. You want to be a phlebotomist? That's an unusual wish but then if you find it interesting then I say why not!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha it seems meeting them will make you paranoidπŸ˜‚ yes, unusual but why not haha. But oh guess what i didn't end up in med field lol i hope i can still pursue it in the futureπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it would πŸ˜‚ there's this slight fear i have for them. Ahh that's too bad but then there's probably still time for you to pursue it. People do double degrees too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yessss my mom actually pushing me to shift course and be a doctor, but i won't since i want to fulfill first my promise to my dad😁. Thank you for your time i love talking with you and i love your arts❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof that's an additional 6 years of studying and almost 200k a sem unless you get into the scholarship I'm in which basically minimizes the cost down to 11k. But I do hope you get to fulfill your dreams! ❀ it's always nice talking to you too ^-^ you have a great curiosity of things

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very good caption

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am fond of these kinds of article. Continue to write :)))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Though i don't know If idlike to write more on my research because i still have to publish it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wanna more on this topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well you can always contact me outside of here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope this research gets approved. Stomp me please, I'm weak for intelligent lifeforms. :(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh my, you're a kinky boy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ same with both though. I still want this patented

$ 0.00
3 years ago

1st of al thanks for the post. I am gonna write a article on superbug tomorrow. Poeple need tonknow about it and why superbugs are developing. 2ndly didn't you use chloroform whie killing the mice? or it will hamper the test? I had to kill 13-14 mice and collect some organ in this marchπŸ˜“πŸ˜“It was painful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh superbugs. Thise are scary lil crawlers ;-; but then i focused on multidrug resistant bacteria here

Wasn't allowed to use chloroform. I needed the mice as is while i extracted the blood and collected organ tissues for testing out cytotoxicity 😞 at least the plant part on the cytotoxicity tests weren't all that bad though. I just hated killing the mice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

that was cruel 😐😐😐 i used chloroform and also some choloform got into my nose....I was feeling dizzy for sometimesπŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I know 😞 my adviser said that the chloroform might contaminate the nanoparticles.... or might trigger the degradation but it was stable in air and i really wished i did euthanasia instead 😞😞😞😞😞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have to make sacrifices for the betterment of mankind. Nothing to do here😒😒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😞😞😞 still took care of thise mice for like a month though. I enjoyed having mouse pets

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I told my supervisor that I want to keep them in my garage but he didn't allow. He said we have to let them die as you can't feed them for free for 6-7 month. So we couldn't do anything. I wanted to take csre of the new born babies at least but he didn't agree

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well that's the pain in research. You gotta kill the mice in order to see if your procedures will work or not. I honestly wanted to choose zebra fish over mice but then, I can't wound nor treat the wounds on zebrafish

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well we only have albino mice and gunea pigπŸ˜“πŸ˜“

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only experienced the albino mice. Guinea pigs were a bit too much for me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My supervisor doesn't use them but some of the teacher use them.

hey, I saw something on super cyclone Trami? it hit in 2018 in phillippines?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I was the only one in my batch that used them, even my profs don't use mice πŸ˜‚

I'm not sure which typhoon that is? I forget typhoon names πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

2018 september...big typhoon😢😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nope, i definitely don't remember. Probably because i usually sleep through those typhoons

$ 0.00
3 years ago

we just went through a typhoon in may...scariest night in my life.. went over my districtπŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This may? There was alsia typhoon here... and i still slept through that πŸ˜‚ I'm so sprry that the rain makes me sleepy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amphan went through....I never saw something in my life. there was a big tree beside my room. next day I found the tree is goneπŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's amazing- since I'm in the city, i don't see that happen often

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Inamnin the city too....but there was a tree and it's drank red bulls..got wings and flown awayπŸ€₯πŸ€₯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wind must have been really strong then-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

our buildng is foundef for 6 floors but there is only 3 floors her...but the buildings seemes to shake... Water tank blown away in my neighbourhood

why I become afraid sitting is an strong appartment. feel the situationπŸ™‚πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That is some crazy wind indeed- I'm so glad we stopped experiencing that in my area but i still feel the roof kind of getting blown away sometimes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well ours is brick and plaster. complete apartment. bt the rooptop is protected with tin. one tin was blown away. We couldn't find itπŸ˜‘πŸ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely such strong winds. Which is why i really favor sleeping through storms

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got you.but that night was a nightmare for us. I slepts after thesuper cyclone left my district and advanced towards another one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought of sharing my research here

Thank you for sharing the details of your research with us. It's well appreciated.

Cooking oil is useful, yeah but then did you ever wondered what happened after it's used? when it's all black and burnt?

Guess I have never seen burnt oil. My oil never gets black - though I don't cook much. Though I have noticed that after a few fries, it gets darker.

Antibiotics resistance will be a great challenge to medicine, if it isn't already. Its becoming harder to get an antibiotics to effectively take care of an infection.

I also cried because I had to kill the mice

I can relate with the feeling as I had to kill some fishes during my undergraduate research. Though I didn't cry, literally. It felt inhumane.

Plus what's good is that my model bacteria and fungi here died at such low concentrations so it makes me proud because it's really effective

Glad to know you had a positive result. And the most important thing is that you looked at your result, and was happy.

Hope to read more updates on this research.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe when I'm dine with the research. I might need to revise it as a review for the moment since the pandemic halted further progress on what i was doing. I was trying to identify all possible mechanisms to explain how using this nanoparticle was possible

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe when I'm dine with the research.

We look forward to that, and good luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago