Chemistry in life

8 46
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Ideas, Blog, Life, Motivation

You must be thinking that “Oh, is this one of her nerd talks about some products she finds interesting” 

Partly it is but this time, the product isn’t something physical. It’s more on the intangible. This time I’m relating chemistry to life. Although I have done so when I first started out on the platform, I do think these lessons are much more important now that I’ve experienced more of life. I know not everyone will appreciate it, but these analogies pretty much helped me with my review and with my undergrad studies. And I do think they’ll eternally be useful to me even when I get older. 

So what are these lessons that I live by? 

The first is that everything craves stability. I know this is highly true with people. We want to be emotionally, physically, mentally, financially, and spiritually stable, but then, all things naturally tend to be. Atoms and molecules want the same too though. They go into reactions just to achieve their most stable forms. They know when to give (ionic bonding), when to share (covalent bonding), when to let go and leave because their original bond was either too toxic or someone better came (there’s something called leaving groups in higher chemistry and we always joke about them being like someone who gets cheated on), and when to stay together so that they can form more stable bonds/compounds. They know when to be selective or not yet they lack the ability to manipulate. That is something that I think we should learn. Let’s face it, we humans are pretty sentimental and stubborn yet we yearn for the idea of any form of stability. So sometimes it just makes me question if we tolerate the instability because we’ve become too attached to what we have now. 

But then I do think that sometimes I lack emotional attachment to anything to be bothered if something changes (I only react with unexpected events like surprises because my introverted self needs a lot of time to process things) But then it’s also good to stay low in energy. I mean, I generally have low energy, but then what about other people? I have no idea where they get all that energy, but isn’t it tiring? Yes, we all have different energies as atoms do and it is quantifiable as well, but what about those that force their energy? Doesn’t it burn them out? Because even atoms have their limits. Once they exceed a certain energy threshold, they find ways to emit all that pent-up energy and in turn, they either glow or they explode and all that energy comes crashing down fast. I imagine it’s the same for people because I have seen people explode either from positive, or negative energy so here, you should really know your energy limits like how sodium knows that it can only reach the 3s and 3p spectra (it’s lame, I know XD)

Honestly speaking though, I do think atoms know themselves better than humans will ever know themselves. My appreciation for them is pretty much on a different level 😅 because atoms don’t have the capacity to think yet they can follow trends that build the most amazing things (like the human body), but they understand when exceptions should be upheld. 

Ahh yes, call me a very hardcore nerd, but to appreciate the smallest unit of life is to appreciate life itself. I do think this is the key idea that I have and will always follow 

Anyways, this is all for what goes on in my head and the very little motivation I know I can share with people XD




8
$ 10.91
$ 10.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
+ 5
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
2 years ago
Topics: Ideas, Blog, Life, Motivation

Comments

Nosebleed 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I think i rather use all my energy doing the right thing which are mostly crypto related than take a chunk out of my ever elusive time to place on a worthless arguments just as you have specified here. It's really good to know that you have such a rich article as this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this sort of analogies. One can open up completely new perspectives by applying them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true. And there's a new sense of appreciation for things usually overlooked before. In my case, people overlook the micro and the fundamental of the physical world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Talking about having little attachment to things, I can relate to this because it helps most times or that I what I used to think. Recently, I have been intentional about being more open and being closer to things because like you said, atoms follow trends and since humans are made up of atoms(roots), I’d just give in to my roots.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just having little attachment is good because you know environments change constantly. Nostalgia is a good enough a feeling but being way too sentimental over things seems ridiculous to me. But then I question the trends you follow because right now there is an additional social media trend to what should only be behavioural and social trends we should be following

$ 0.00
2 years ago