Facts About Mathematics

23 34
Avatar for Hanhan.430cas
2 years ago

What is your favorite subject? Why do people hate Mathematics? Do you agree that if you love Mathematics, you don't like English subject? Or if you love English, you hate Mathematics? It is quite true and possible. In fact, my wife doesn't like Mathematics and she is an English teacher. Me? I really love mathematics but it was my weakness even until now to write a long paragraph. I hate to construct sentences when I was in high school. For the sake of compliance and grade, I was forced to submit a writing composition. My articles here in this platform can prove it.

Sponsors of Hanhan.430cas
empty
empty
empty

Way back during my high school days, our valedictorian was an intelligent one but she was weak on mathematics. She was good in English both written and verbal. She got also highest grades for all the subjects aside from mathematics. But she was still our consistent first honor from first year until fourth year even she was having only average on mathematics' grade. She oftentimes asked my help especially when we have assignments for Math and even during our quizzes and examination.

Why I am good in math?

Teachers can really influence the development of students' behaviour in terms of learning. In my town, I graduated my elementary education in a barangay where Ma'am Florlinda Jervoso was teaching. She was my math teacher and she was very excellent the way she delivered her lessons. Many idolized her as a math teacher and I was one of those. She was my favorite teacher. Maybe she was one of the reasons why I am currently teaching math subject also.

Mathematics is known as the most difficult subjects in all learning areas. That is one of the facts of Mathematics. Many can prove how mathematics is so complicated. According to many people, why they hate Mathematics because of many reasons. They don't like Mathematics because of the problem solving. I think you would agree on this. They hate formula. They don't want to perform the fundamental operations of Mathematics. They don't want to take risk in solving word problems. They tried to solve problem but unfortunately they don't arrive at a correct answer. It seemed like they were wasting their time in solving but gained no more points.

Basically, how can we solve real problems in life if we don't practice answering problems in school? Math is life. The truth is we struggled this subject in elementary. When we go to high school, we can't escape this subject and it's getting higher and harder. The basic concept of Math is very much important in dealing higher principles. In elementary, we are taught this: __ + 9 = 10. It means that what number to be added by nine that would give us ten. But in high school, we are confused of x + y = 10. Because they said how can we add x and y that gives us 10? Don't be closed to your mind while your teacher is discussing about algebra. Open your heart and learn to love numbers.

Another problem that most students encountered was an integer. How did it happen that when we subtract a negative number by another negative number but it gives a positive answer. Like for instance, (-5) - (-10) = +5. Many students confused about this. Maybe you too. You will realize that it is true when we apply the number line. But actually, there are rules of integers being followed for that.

Don't you know that only in mathematics we can prove that ATTITUDE gives us a 100% guarantee to complete the main purpose of true education. According to the quote that goes, the main goal of true education is INTELLIGENCE + ATTITUDE. Character is more important than intelligence. Education doesn't measure your intelligence alone but it requires also right attitude. Let's add the corresponding number of the word ATTITUDE by the order of letters in the alphabet. For example, A = 1, B= 2, ... Z = 26. Thus, ATTITUDE = 1+20+20+9+20+21+4+5 = 100. That only means that a perfect education is achieved with a right attitude. Educated people have right attitude. Professionals have it too.

__________________

Closing Thoughts

Mathematics has been playing important role in our lives. It may not teach us to add love or subtract hate but mathematics always reminds us that every problem has its own solution.

What can you say about this article? Are you also one of those who are asking to remove math subject in our educational system? Did you struggle also in learning math?

Please don't hesitate to drop your comment below! Don't forget also to like and subscribe.

Thank you so much for reading!

9
$ 1.24
$ 1.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Talecharm
+ 4
Sponsors of Hanhan.430cas
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanhan.430cas
2 years ago

Comments

I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to those who gave additional insights, comments and personal views with regards to this article. I appreciated your time for reading and sharing your brilliant comments. God bless everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Math appears to be tough because it requires time and effort. Many students may not have enough time to understand arithmetic lessons and fall behind as the teacher progresses. Many students progress to increasingly complicated topics with poor foundations. Math requires constant practice

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks so much for that my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to hear that from you my friend. I agree with you that mathematics needs thinking skills and practice and of course the basic foundation taught in elementary days.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading this...✌️. I found myself in love with mathematics because of the way I was properly taught. Although they were lapses from classes I passed through because of teachers that didn't performed well in releasing the knowledge to us, but I enjoyed the class we were well taught. I don't too much love English and I don't know why. If I'm to choose between English and mathematics, I'd go for mathematics even though people are running away from it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we love Mathematics, there is a space in our heart and mind to listen the discussion in the classroom. But if our mind and heart are closed for learning, then it's hard for us to learn mathematics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly, it all start with the mindset, if the mind is not open to learn, nothing will enter the brain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have the point my friend. Nothing will be learned if students don't have the mindset to listen to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what sir, you're so fabulous with your writings. I think people who profoundly understand math is good also in English. That's is observable coz even in LET typically most top notchers are math majors.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for dropping by my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your compliments sir. You have also the point sir. But I think there are only few who are good to both. What you're trying to say sir just correct me if I am wrong that math teachers are good in English but not fluent as english teachers when they talk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate mathematics i dont like the solving problem...but my daughter she loves math..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Better that your daughter loves this subject. Encourage her more to be good in math.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are instances like that. At least you will be happy for your daughter. You can really appreciate her what you did not appreciate before. Encourage more your daughter to love the subject especially the problem solving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I clearly remember that I was bad in mathematics. But from class 8, I started loving it and now, it is my favourite subject.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much my friend for dropping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to hear that my friend Lucifer in name. Hehehe I know you're a good person. You're a proof to believe others especially the students that we can have a chance to love mathematics if we hate it before. It matters the heart to embrace the beauty of Mathematics.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From school until now I love to solve math problem. Actually math is not difficult to learn if you listen attentively. I still don't know why do lot of people hate mathematics. It's fun if you have great mentor and a good stamina with passion.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for giving additional insights for this my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think your background from elementary was good in terms of learning math. You have I think good teacher before making you not to suffer the basic operations of math. There are people who don't love math and numbers as well. Yes It's more fun in learning mathematics. But others can't appreciate the beauty of numbers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can only problem solving in math it's connect with life how ever hard the situation we facing still we can solve it like in math we need to solve the problem in order for us to get score and success on it. I'm not good on both subject but I try my best to try.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for that additional insights of yours my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good my friend Ettel. In trying, we learn. Just like her in Read.cash, our writing and communication skills will be developed. We will improve her as we continue writing more articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago