Short Story Challenge - Day 5

1 31
Avatar for H3ruvim78
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Loneliness, Art, Adoption, Poetry, ...

As I promised, this month I will do another writing challenge, this time the focus will be on storytelling, and I will try to immortalize a fragment of life, a short story about something that made me wonder, being that an idea or a peek into a stranger's life. Enjoy!

Morning dialogue(11.11.2022)

I always liked France. Even now, as I sit outside a little cafe, eating my cake and enjoying my coffee under the shade of the Tour Eiffel, I cannot stop myself from thinking back to when they were just building it, with high-quality open-lattice wrought iron brought from some Eastern European country, probably Romania. I remember that Lumiere's first movie was still watched in Paris ( it was called "Workers Leaving the Lumière Factory", of this one I am sure).

Yes, you may never guess, I am immortal, I lived through the ages, and I have seen empires rise and fall. I never knew why, and never ever met anyone like me. Ten years ago some geneticist that I trust told me that apparently, my telomeres can regenerate, and as soon as 20% of them are spent, they grow back again. Eternal youth also, for this one I am grateful. I am as old as time, being born a long time ago before the pyramids were built. My childhood was spent in a small Nabatean village, near the Dead Sea (was not dead back then). But I digress. And above all, this is not a curse, this is a blessing.

Oh, the stories that I can tell! The most naughty one is that I do not like garlic or onion in my food, even if I can tolerate a small amount. My skin is quite white, and I can get easily burned by the Sun in the summer, and on top of that, I like to go to bed quite late and wake up later in the day. You see where I am going? I may have been the inspiration source for Dracula, except that I do not drink blood. But then, without this, the story would have been a bit boring, isn't it? So that is no God's punishment, no deal with the Devil, just some freaky genetic accident, and nothing else.

Well, my cup is empty now, I need to go, see you around! and he left.

The cat was looking at him leaving, thinking about all the chit-chat: (What a strange fellow!).

But all that the waiter heard was: Meow-meow.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
Sponsors of H3ruvim78
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for H3ruvim78
1 year ago
Topics: Book, Loneliness, Art, Adoption, Poetry, ...

Comments

Put them all in a PDF at the end

$ 0.00
1 year ago