Tips on how to deal with your emotions

9 55
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Lately, I've been seeing a lot of posts about people being anxious, depressed, frustrated, or hopeless. People who thought that their lives are meaningless. People who thought of themselves as useless. Existential crisis? Well, maybe.

These posts reminded me again that everyone has their own problems and sufferings. That's why I want to leave some messages here.

Maybe you feel like a failure, you feel frustrated, you feel depressed, you are afraid, or maybe feeling everything at once. But please, stop apologizing for feeling them and going through that stage. All those feelings are valid. All those emotions are legitimate, but also keep in mind that emotions come and go.

When you also feel like nothings right, it helps when you get some piece of paper and write at least 10 things that you are thankful for. Even the smallest things. This technique is effective for me, and I hope this works with you too. Like what they say, the key to success is gratitude.

There's also this one technique that I've read and I want to share it here.

Imagine you are a friend of you. Imagine that you listen to the stories and sentiments of you. After hearing all the stories, what will you advice to that friend? We always know how to advice a friend, but when it comes to ourselves, we don't know what to do. That's why I think this technique will be effective. This way, we can detach ourselves from other aspects that affects our decision making, such as our ego, our biases, or our attachment to our emotions.

You are not afraid. You just feel fear.

You are not anxious, you just feel anxiety.

I think this way, it is easier to detach ourselves from those emotions, versus when we say I am afraid. I am anxious. I am depressed. This will help us to decide better. I too, is still in the process of mastering this technique.

Please also note that these techniques may help (or may not), but always seek for support and medical advice from mental health practitioners if needed.

You can also share here on read.cash anything that you're going through or bothering you. I know many people here are more than willing to show some support. This is not just a blogging site. In my one month of stay here, I've witnessed many authors who showed support for each other like families. That's why do not hesitate.

I originally wanted to write about Existential Crisis, but decided to just share some thoughts here. You can also share your ideas and thoughts about this topic on the comment section.

11
$ 0.02
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @Myt.24
Sponsors of Gwenie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gwenie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You shared a very good method with us. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. I hope this will help. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This sounds a message of hope and encouragement. Thanks for this @Gwenie

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. :) I hope this article helps even in some small ways. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is what I call motivation dear. Thanks foe sharing and I hope you are okay there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are your own best supporter and your own worst enemy. These are good points to boost yourself when you feel low. ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree with you, self-support is a must to conquer all inferior emotions. Me sometimes, I talk to myself but always make sure nobody see me or else they might think I'm crazy 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. But that's a good technique too. Maybe I'll try that next time. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago