Pursuit. (Part Three.)

3 23
Avatar for Guub0
Written by
3 years ago

(Part One) (Part Two)

From Unsplash.

“Leave this to me then” He says. You can almost feel the smirk on his face.

The guy next to me tries to rush the two figures again as they step toward us, both in eerie synchronization, only for me to hold him by the arm and stop his movement.

“Hey- what gives?”

I'm surprised those two haven't jumped us yet, they're taking their sweet time, they're just walking here slowly, don't even look eager or antsy. Still, I take the opportunity to speak with my newest “partner”.

“Think before you do something that kills us both!” I hiss at him.

He scoffs, forcefully ripping his arm out of my grasp “I know what I'm doing! Just stay back and watch”

“Wait! Don't-” He moves before I can finish, with enough speed to kick up whatever items are on the floor, heading straight for the two in front.

All I see is a blur moving extremely fast in front me, I can't even get an idea of where he is until he hits the smaller of the two sending them both backwards into the alley.

…That means he left me with the big guy.

The giant doesn't even react to his friend being tackled, instead choosing to sprint towards me. Needless to say, getting hit by that guy is definitely not something I want to happen to me.

Instead of bracing for impact I take out three more of my own toys and throw them at him, all the while distancing myself from him. These ones are boomerangs of my own design, there's no explosives on these ones though.

The three of them hit, the man doesn't even flinch or react to them and simply keeps charging at me, covering the distance between us in no time. In a panic, I try to move out of the way of his reach, I manage to, just barely, and can feel the movement of his arm right behind me.

I try another thing from my belt, I take out two more boomerangs, special ones and throw them again. I could try to punch the guy too, but something tells me it's a bad idea.

The giant moves again, this time aimlessly swinging his arms around, I made enough distance between us two for it to not hit me and one of the boomerangs hit, before it sends an electric shock to him.

The giant flexes in response to the shock, his size increasing even more as he lets out an animalistic roar. He lunges at me with surprising speed and I only have one split second to react.

I can only move an inch, barely avoiding his attack. His fist buries itself into the asphalt of the road with a loud crack, the strength behind it makes me stumble and fall. I quickly roll and try to get myself up, all of my senses alarmed and preparing for the giant to use this advantage.

Thankfully for me, his fist seems to have been stuck onto the ground with too much force, the giant trying to pull his appendage of the floor desperately.

I intend to use that to my advantage and put some distance between us both, checking my belt and pockets for something stronger…

Suddenly, from one of the buildings beside the street comes a burst of lightning, blowing up one of the walls and sending someone flying with it.

That someone being my newest partner, who unceremoniously landed right next to me on the floor. Despite the nature of the attack and the distance he was thrown off from, he looks just fine.

He sits up on the ground, holding his head and groaning. All the while his opponent, the smaller figure, jumps through the hole they made on the building.

“Trouble?” I ask my companion.

His head turns to my direction as he slowly stands “You could say that” he mumbles, he shakes his head and looks at me again

“I… don't suppose you have any ideas?” he asks, hand behind his neck.

I turn to the giant, just in time to see his partner in crime stand next to him, the light from the streetlamps illuminating both, letting me finally see them properly.

Without moving my gaze from the two of them I open my mouth again “A couple, though you would have to listen first, instead of running off again.”

I can feel him flinch at that comment. It doesn't take long for him to speak once again “Yeah, sorry about that”

I hum, still staring at the two. The small one looks feminine and stares at her companion while his arm is stuck on the floor. Despite his predicament, she just stares at him for a moment all while he struggles with his arm. There's no communication between the two, I can't even recognize their costumes yet there's some sense of familiarity, like I've seen them before.

“Uh… Ideas?” My ally stammers.

“One” I respond. “What's your name?”

I can feel his surprise at the question “Uh…”

“Hero name, not real name.”

“…It's Drift.”

Huh, not someone I recognize, must be new “Mine's Hood” My head turns to stare at him in the eye “We'll change targets, you go after the big guy, I'll deal with the small one”

His eyes widen “That's your idea!? He'll turn me into mush!”

I ignore him, rummaging through my belt once more “You have speed, use it.” I continue before he can respond “Not like you did before. Go for the legs, his arms, not his body. Don't rush him like before, play smart, not tough.”

The small figure produces more electricity and directs it at the giant, his muscles once again increasing in size and allowing him to pull out, or rather, break free his arm from the asphalt. He flexes his now freed appendage for a moment, his companion turning towards us and staring, just like they always do.

“Huh.” He probably didn't think about that one “I didn't think about that…” Heh.

“You've got your target- ” I begin, taking aim before continuing “ -so go out there and knock them out!” I throw my weapons with all the strength I have.

Three of my spheres go flying from my hand and two of them get shot down in the air by the small figure, one of them getting too close to her before she shots in down, the explosion sending her backwards somewhat, away from the big guy.

“How many of those things do you have?” I hear Drift yell as I move.

The giant responds immediately to the attack on his ally and rushes to us. Drift staring like a deer in headlights.

I bark “Stop gawking and move!”

It seems to snap him out of his stupor, the familiar burst of wind as he simply moves is all that remains after I speak.

Immediately I turn towards the incoming threat. It takes almost no time, before the giant stumbles once, twice and finally falls down majestically, rolling over the floor. I quickly step out of his way as he does so and lands some distance away.

Drift stops moving, standing where the giant began to fall, there's some elation and surprise on his face. “Hoo. I can't believe I did that!” The smile on his face is huge and I can't help but chuckle myself.

“Good work- ” I see something out of the corner of my eye and quickly sidestep right as a bolt of thunder hits the floor, Drift jumps in place as he sees the attack, our smallest opponent standing a great distance behind him, her arm filled with electricity and aiming right where I stood.

The biggest of our opponents, the giant, stands once again, staring at Drift.

I take some more of my toys and stare at my own opponent, before speaking once again to Drift.

“Now do it again.”

2
$ 2.84
$ 2.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Guub0
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Have you written the next part yet? The chemistry they have is cuteee but the action was lit OwO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! That's just what I was trying with these two. The next part is coming, yes, but because procrastination is in my blood it's taking a while. Rest assured that there will be a next one, just give me some more time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Procrastination is never an issue with me but you might grow impatient with how long it could take for me to read with the work i have and all ;;-;; but I'd definitely read when i find the time to!

$ 0.00
3 years ago