My distraction

6 19
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Distraction

Distraction, the same yet different for everyone. I like to think of it as a form of temptation to change you from a given course, to or fro. Do not get me wrong, it is not always a bad thing. We all need to escape sometimes and distraction is the best way to achieve this.

The question here is "what are your major distractions?"

A long list comes to mind which has forced me to question myself

"Great, what are you running from?"

There are some things I'm just not ready to face and I'm hoping if I continue to run perhaps the demons that haunt me would leave me be.

Enough of the short revelation of some of the darkest sides of my mind, it's time to dive right into the topic, no need to be sidetracked so early in the article...Distraction eh.

My Mobile device

Have you ever wanted to do something else, perhaps read for a test or exams and all of a sudden you pick up your phone to do research and the next thing you know is you are already on read.cash, or noise.cash, or You-Tube or just chatting?

If you have then you will be able to understand this form of distraction. Admittedly reading on a stretch can be mentally draining and taking breaks in between is recommended, except that the breaks can be unnecessary long which then becomes a bad thing.

I will take this break for ten minutes, next thing you know after an hour you are still with the phone. Time goes by so fast when you have found a good distraction.

Food

This might be only applicable to me. I love food, I can cook as well. Food has always been a form of escape to me, when I feel sad or down in the dumps, there is always food for every mood. Spaghetti for when I'm sad, Rice and Chicken Stew for when I'm happy, Yam or Potatoes for when I'm hungry, Bread and Fried egg for when I'm upset, ice cream for when I'm going through emotional pain.

To process of making a new dish itself can be distracting which is not exactly a bad thing - Although, there was a time I was going through a heartbreak and I was cooking spaghetti, turned out I forgot to add some ingredients and a little more than I should for some and it turned out awful hence why we just do ice cream for heartbreaks.

Talking to GreatWolfman

This might sound a bit weird to you- talking to myself - but it helps me stay focused, some of you do it unintentionally, for example, when you are studying for exams and read some things aloud so it would stick, do you realize you are actually speaking to yourself?

Mine might be a little bit extreme hence the reason I love having my privacy, I enjoy my own company. I have actually spoken to myself in public several times unconsciously - bad habits are difficult to end but not many people would notice. Talking to oneself can take different forms such as writing, drawing, singing, and actually talking to yourself.

It helps create clarity in your mind especially when you need a distraction from being distracted. Great, that was some deep quote, keep it up Man.

My Wild Imagination.

Sometimes I get lost in my own thoughts, this is a major distraction for me. I tend to overthink unnecessary things which has its positive and negative attributes.

Have you ever heard the saying "You can not lie to an overthinker"? Well, it's true, that's because before you give an answer I must have done my investigations right there in my find hunting for flaws in your statements. Also, I tend to re-create some of my wild thoughts, sometimes I could be doing something and suddenly blackout in my own thoughts. This is weird, I know but it has its benefits.


Conclusion

Trying to avoid your problems by finding a form of distraction does not work all the time, you can only run so far when you will eventually have to face it head-on.

Good time management can also help control how often you get distracted, create a time for distraction, I know that sounds funny but it's true, create a time to chat with your phone when you have other priorities, create a time to go out, create a time to see a movie and stick to it, that way it won't catch you off guard and leave you filled with regrets

Lastly, sometimes it is necessary to get distracted once in a while, do not get caught up in the world of make-believe especially if you have got wild imaginations like me.


This week's writing prompt is Distraction. If you would like to join in, the rules are simple.

  1. Write anything on Distraction

  2. Write 100% original content

  3. Write at least 600 words to please Rusty

  4. Join and submit your stories to PromptlyJonica

  5. Tag @JonicaBradley  and me @TengoLoTodo

  6. Have fun!


This prompt was given by @JonicaBradley but currently she is indisposed, so I will be tagging @TengoLoTodo in her stead.


Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my amazing sponsors 

Lead image source from unsplash.com

7
$ 2.85
$ 2.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.03 from @Ling01
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Distraction

Comments

I usually get distracted on noise(not noise.cash because I love it:D), then when I got irritated I just listen to music or stay away. And yeah, phone is the next on the list, can't avoid to use it daily.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same here, phones are a major source of distractions these days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol...I am glad to hear you have food according to your mood swings lol. This happened to me several times when I was studying hard but notification on my phone distracted me.but I agree time management can save us from distraction.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Most times I just switch off my phone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wild imaginations are really distractions haha.. Sometimes our minds bring us to dimensions that we don't want to face.. Lol.. Coz it's just making things more complicated

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true, the mind is a powerful place

$ 0.00
2 years ago