I am only human

7 52
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Acrostic

I once thoughts I could do it all, be the perfect kid, the perfect son, the perfect friend. I always tried to satisfy people first before myself. I cared more about people's opinions than I cared to listen to what I needed.


Apparently, I lived in my own world where I thought everything could be perfect. I pushed myself to the limit to set a standard for my siblings to follow. "it is the responsibility of the Firstborn to set a path for his siblings"- I was often told while growing up.


Manipulating people into believing perfection exists in my opinion has been a big error in our ways. The idea of perfection belongs only to the creator. We want so much to be like the Creator that we now try to imitate him, we want to be the ones to judge and also the executioner forgetting that we are in fact filled with flaws. "He that is without sin among you, let him cast the first stone at her"- according to the gospel of John. It is written yet we seem to turn a blind eye to this part.


Over the years, a lot of people have come up with different theories to show how as humans we can strive toward perfection. Writers and poets came up with motivational quotes and beautiful poetry trying to paint a picture of what perfection should look like. Scientists built machines to carry out herculean tasks, Programmers wrote computer programs to help simplify complex problems. A big joke if you'd ask me, the human justification of what perfection should look like.


Nowadays, the word "being human" means so little. In the past being human would have meant showing love and caring for another, in reality being human is quite the opposite. There is more hatred than love these days, the idea of jungle justice is becoming even more rampant and the word being human is slowly changing its meaning to "being heartless".


Love and hate are part of being human, the two must exist for one can't consume the other. It's your job to try to keep both feelings balanced. The one that you feed the most gets more power and that is what defines you as a Human.


You are who you claim to be. Part of being human is having the free will to decide, I guess that is why we are capable of committing sins. You have the power to say yes or no, you have the power to change the world and destroy it, whatever decision you make has its consequences.


How about we come together and redefine what being human is, destroy all forms of misconceptions of the term "Human" and instead of trying to be who people want you to be, why not just be your best self. We need to revive that spirit of compadre as we seek to achieve an even higher purpose.


Understanding what makes us human is a big step towards actualizing this dream. Imagine a world where there is no such thing as war and we all live in peace and harmony. Where there is a lot of sharing and love-filled gratitude. A world where your cheeks hurt from smiling too much. Wouldn't that be nice?


Mistakes will be inevitable as we strive towards this goal, which is also part of being human. We are not perfect after all. The conscious volition and the readiness to accept mistakes and learn from them as we forge ahead on this path alone is enough.


Although, it is very possible that my suggestions might just be wrong because I'm also human, but do give this some thoughts. What idea of a perfect world do you see? Perhaps you will see the world from my point of view.


Nevertheless, I will share my thoughts whilst hoping you make sense of it. I am only human, that's who I am but I can be more. I can rise above false misconceptions the world has accepted to be normal and perhaps lead others into being the best they can be. Maybe it is not possible to attain perfection, but I can continue to strive towards it. Who knows, maybe my single act of change can make this world a better place to live in someday.


This is my submission to the "why not a rustic" challenge from the #PromptFactory.

Acrostic according to Cambridge dictionary is defined as:

"a text, usually a poem, in which particular letters, such as the first letters of each line, spell a word or phrase"

If you noticed, the highlighted words spell out "I AM ONLY HUMAN". A lot of people have participated in this challenge, you can too. Write a creative content using the Acrostic style and submit it to the Promptfactory. If you are not yet a part of this community, here is a link. If you ever run out of topics to write on which is pretty common among writers, just visit the community and have fun.

12
$ 4.80
$ 4.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Acrostic

Comments

Hmmm,after reading this pop up in my mind and it goes thus are we even behaving life human or like a beast and this surely going to be what I will write upon in my upcoming post.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to what you've experienced @greatwolfman. I grow making people like me. I want to be as perfect as I can. I hate to disappoint people around me. I always mind of what they'll say about me.

When I grow older, I changed my perspective and turned to a lady who priotize my self peace rather than being afraid of what other people say.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nice acrostic piece 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A great piece of acrostic writing and a great phrase that has many meanings for different people ... I am only human

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being human is the best thing but are we properly utilising the meaning of it. Now human are doing cruel works.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope all of that changes for the better

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have tried the same thing, but the result is a disaster... i am felling in a hole from where i cant recover.... I am waiting for a U turn that can lead me to a path that belongs to me, my destination.....

$ 0.02
2 years ago