Hakuna Matata

16 38
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Worries

Hakuna Matata!
What a wonderful phrase
Hakuna Matata!
Ain't no passing craze

It means no worries
For the rest of your days
It's our problem-free philosophy
Hakuna Matata!

The scene from The Lion King

How old were you when you first saw The Lion King? If you haven't seen it I would be really shocked. I remember it was the first animated movie that made me emotional. Seeing a young Simba and a dead Mufasa -Simba's father - broke my young innocent heart. Of course, he was saved by Pumbaa and Timon - A warthog and a meerkat. Then the song ensued - Hakuna Matata.

Hakuna Matata according to its translation in Swahili means "there are no troubles". It simply means everything will be okay - Dictionary.com

I have to admit, it is a good motto to live by but is it without flaws? Is worrying really wrong? Will everything be alright if you do nothing?

It's human nature to worry, and this is because we care. When you care about something or someone you won't be able to help yourself. Perhaps it's a default setting.

"Hakuna Matata" is having hope that things will get better. "Nothing lasts forever" the sages would often say but somehow it feels as though good times don't last for very long forcing us to worry even more.

Why do you worry if it won't change what has happened? Why do you worry when it won't solve anything?

We often confuse the saying "not worrying" with "not doing anything" which is wrong. Hakuna Matata is not an excuse for being lazy.

If you have an exams and you refuse to study, will you magically know the answers just my saying "Hakuna Matata?

As you can see from that example, Hakuna Matata is merely the first step towards arriving at a solution.

You should focus more on what you can control, not what you can't. I know sometimes we just can't control ourselves and it is also healthy to shed tears when you are really concerned about it but don't dwell too much on it. If there is anything you can still do about it, then you need to focus your time and effort on that rather than worrying.

I recently posted an article "Lessons from the Vikings" which explained that worrying over something all night long will only leave worse than it did the previous day.

What should you do?

I broke it down into two situations.

1. If you are worried about something and there is nothing you can do about it.

Then just stop worrying since it won't solve anything.

If you are religious, you may decide to start praying, it can bring you the comfort you need to have a clear mind.

Just because you can't solve it doesn't mean someone else can't. Share your dilemma with people you trust but beware, not everyone is your friend.

Cut your losses, accept that what has happened has happened. Find out why it did and take note of the lessons.

2. If you are worried about something and you can still do something about it.

Well, for one I don't see the point in you getting worried. You can easily take deep breathes to calm your body to plan a clear course towards finding a solution. The steps are quite simple

  1. Identify the problem and discover what went wrong

  2. Try to find the solution, you may need to seek advice from someone who has the needed experience to err on the side of caution.

  3. Implement the said solution

Closing thought

As you can see, you don't have to worry about anything because everything is going to be all right (Bob Marley). Life is no bed made of roses, it comes with its daily challenges.

What doesn't break you only makes you stronger and for that, you shouldn't quit or just give up and certainly not worry. Okay you should worry but don't dwell too much on it.

Before I round up this article I need to ask this question.

Have you ever been in a situation where things are not going the way you like, and now you're worried about what could happen next, instead of cutting losses and moving on, you decide to do nothing but worry and the situation continues to worsen?

Hahaha, No, I'm not talking about crypto trading - or am I? I'll never tell. I'm sure you understand the point I'm driving at.

Here's my advice to you, stop worrying, start living. Life has it's challenges, face them.


Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Do not forget to check out my amazing sponsors block

References

The Lion King

UnsplashUnsplash


All images used has been linked to it's source.

Lead image credits goes to Unsplash

11
$ 3.90
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Pichi28
+ 3
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Worries

Comments

I can't remember the age I watched this for the first time, I think that would be in secondary school days. Yeah. Stop worrying and start living. Thanks for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The hakuna matata philosophy simply means not to worry over matters you cant change or have no control over

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i dont remember my age when I watched that.. i loved timon and pumbaa super.. I can't count the times i've been worried a lot. And then as you start retracing these things you were worried about you'd realize like you said, they pass by..

praying helps a lot depending on what you prayed for then though :)

as for crypto i think i got tired of worrying too much. hahahaha.. it is tiring so we take steps a day at a time, what we miss for now is for next time's gain..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting writeup! Definitely takes me back to those days when I was crazy about Lion King. Anyway, reading this article is almost like it was written for me. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hakuna matata, what a wonderful world was also used in a country side song though i can't really remember the singer's name but all the same, and just as you have explained here, it means no worry. Breaking it down into phases for easy understanding is very superb no doubts

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Sammy1

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lion kinggg I've always loved this movie since the day i watched it. Even the song is forever in my head

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was 18 when I watched the lion king When you are worried think about every good thing in your life right now. Free yourself of worrying, Let go of the anxiety, breathe, Stay positive, all is well is going to be alright

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The Lion King is my forever favorite children movie when I was a kid, I am still familiar with the Hakuna Matata song hehe, anyways thank you for writing this uplifting and enlivening article this made my day and somehow eases my stress❣️, indeed we should not worry a lot of things instead overcome it with positive ways🙏

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know all the lyrics to every song featured in this movie by heart

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this song, it sure takes me back! Instead of Worrying it is better to Think or plan ahead because worrying wont benefit anyone!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

As much as I can remember, it was one of the first cartoons I ever saw as a kid

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You won't believe I was reading this one while singing the song. Of course silently. I don't want people come to my house to beat me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Me too. So catchy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww! Thanks for this. I worry much lately because of some relatives issues. I don't want to face them because they didn't mind what would I feel. So why explain and face them. I would rather to be on my own and focus to my goal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't worry, everything will be alright

$ 0.00
2 years ago