A friend in need

3 38
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Who is a friend? A friend is anyone who stands by you, through thick and thin, helps you out when you're down or ready to go down with you. Gets you into trouble and suffers the consequences with you.

It was a Friday, the best time of the week and there I was, down in the dumps after having what might just be the worst day of my life, or so I thought...

Bolu, who happened to be the best friend and mentor I have till date - you see I wasn't very bright as some of you would think, I had difficulty in Mathematics, but all of that was for a short period of time all thanks to him - taught me how to simplify big problems into little ones I could work with and relate that same procedure in solving bigger problems, his principle was simple, "it's all big numbers" he'd say, "but same procedure"... this worked magic for me, even in the university... He was a genius, the smartest boy I ever had to pleasure of meeting...and ultimately the best friend anyone could wish for.

He saw my plight, though at this point he didn't know it was for Her and he went back to his Hostel, got me a clean Trouser, although it wasn't slim fitted, but it was definitely better than the one I was currently wearing. He didn't have a clean shirt though, but he gave me his cardigan to cover my shame - thanks to the rainy season, no one noticed anything odd.

I still had a strong headache so I hurried down to the dispensary to get clinical help and luckily made it back in time for the Further Mathematics test - the one I failed to prepare for because I was in a dream world over Her - but the test wasn't anything difficult,Thanks to Bolu.

He is the definition of a true friend, I hope I'll get to repay that favour someday.

A good friend helps you when you in need, picks you up when you are down, gives you strength when you're weak, makes you laugh when you are sad, disagrees with you when you're wrong, makes you a better version of yourself, and should you ever find all these qualities in a girl you love or a guy if you're a girl, don't lose them..they are the better half of you, finding a good friend and a lover in one person is rare but not at all lost. You'll find that happiness one day if you still haven't.

Finally, getting back to my old self, at least back to how I was in the morning, I went to look for her at least to say Hello, and there he was, holding her hands, making her laugh. I didn't know what they were talking about to make her laugh, but I reckon telling her about how my day went wouldn't have the same effect, she would feel pity and sad for me. Looking through the window, it all seemed clear, I could never be that guy, maybe I should just stop trying to be someone else and just be myself. Begs the question though "who am I?"

As I walked back to my class, I felt broken, nothing seemed happy anymore, a feeling I just couldn't describe accurately. What was I to do?

Well, she was still single despite this new competition by whom I was completely outmatched.

"This isn't over", I told myself as I walked away.

Hello friends, this is a sequel to my other articles about my personal love experiences, if you have enjoyed this part and would love to see more please like and subscribe to my blog, and if you have comments to make, please feel free, let me know what you think about , well, me

6
$ 0.23
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

This article is totally relatable. This is why I don't just call any body a friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a careful listener is another notable characteristic of a friend in need. Moreover, you should carefully listen to each and every word your friend says. Most noteworthy, one must memorize what one’s friend says, especially if it’s something important.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's true... thanks for the addition

$ 0.00
2 years ago