Why did you start your business?

2 10
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

In 2013, I received a call from my Dad that changed my life forever

He told me that his goods had been seized by Customs and that he had could no longer pay back the money he had borrowed from the Bank.

At first, I didn't understand the full import of what he meant---we were a financially comfortable family and my father was going to pull through this in no time.

So I thought.

I was wrong.

Before long, my dad told my sister and I that he could no longer pay tuition for both of us. Hence, one person would have to drop out of school

However, I strongly opposed this idea and insisted that my sister and I would stay and continue our university education together.

The die was cast; Endiong and I were officially on our own.

In no time, my sister and I moved from "Ajebo" status to serious "Ajepako"

Everything turned upside down for us financially. If the Lord had not brought good friends and people our way, we would have eventually dropped out of school as schooling in Nigeria was more expensive than we had thought it was.

Fast forward to 2016 after my graduation from the University of Uyo, I asked the Lord to help me remember how hard the struggle was for us and for Him to use me to help others who were facing a similar problem.

This is how Gracelanding Motors And Transport Services (GMTs) was born

My company is delivering an inclusive tricycle driving service where indigent university undergraduates are employed as drivers in order for them to earn money to pay for tuition and other incidental fees

This is why I am in Umuahia doing what I do.

So, any day you ever enter a GMT tricycle, remember this:

You are helping the person sitting in front of you to begin and complete their university education.

Remember this.

2
$ 0.00

Comments

Brilliant writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago