Walking In My Own Direction- Reflections from a personal story

2 12
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

WALKING IN MY OWN DIRECTION- Reflections from a personal story

A couple of years ago, a friend invited me to join a skill acquisition program which was to hold for just a day. On the D-day, we met with the lady who passed the information to inquire on how to get there and also confirm the address we were given.

Hours after my morning chores we were already on our way and in no time we got to the location, but we couldn't find the exact building and house number we were looking for.

So the search began, we moved around to ask people and passers by for the building which had a name and number but no one seemed to know.

It actually got worst, when we asked a lady who claimed she lived on the street and was aware of every nook and cranny but had never heard of the name and house number. This lady ended up giving directions to another street and like lost sheep that ignored their shepherd's voice, we began to wander.

An hour passed and we were still asking for directions, till I got frustrated coupled with the Saturday's smiling sun which seemed delighted to shine on us, I made up my mind to go back home.

But before I did, I asked my friend to phone the lady one more time, after I realized we were completely lost.

Long story short, after she was phoned, we were directed to come back to the place we left and this meant starting all over again.

This time around public opinions didn't matter. On getting there, I noticed a sagging cable that was hanging from a pole in a bad way, part of it rested on a very tall building and beside the cable was a large inscription of a house name and number.

At first I wanted to slap my self but I couldn't, though I was so angry at me for being so used to seeing things at a particular angle. I tapped my friend to it and she was like" so this is it, na wa o" and she walked in like we didn't just have an over - tan together.

She acted like nothing happened, meanwhile I was at the verge of imploding. But that's not the lesson here, though you might pick a thing or two that's gonna be different from what I learned.

I'm actually going to liken this to our walk with God and the holy spirit.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Over the years, this event has kept me thinking.

What if this realization came after many years and what if it wasn't a day's journey?

Would I leave the path kept for me over public opinion?

At the end of this post, I want you to realize that the goal of life is to walk in God's direction and not yours.

At times, walking in our own directions could be a path of self destruction and without doubt, an obstacle in God's will and way.

So what happens when God promises a thing and it doesn't look like it?

FAITH

Most times, when God promises a thing and it doesn't look like it "yet". This is where our faith comes in.

Remember, without faith ,you can't please God. It is imperative that we know Faith speaks a different language when it comes to sight. The world says " seeing is believing" but faith says " believing is seeing".

J. Oswald Sander was right when he quoted " eyes that look are common, but eyes that see are rare".

These eyes that sees is the eye of faith.

Also, know that " Your life will shrink or expand in the proportion of your Faith"

Maintaining a life of unwavering Faith is very critical when it comes to our walk with God, we cannot afford the luxuries of being our own enemy, in other words "putting water in our own boats, when the storms of life will put enough"

PATIENCE

Recall the part I wanted to turn home even when I was where I was supposed to be. Funny right? But it showed impatience and an impatient man doesn't do much with God.

Impatience refines half polished gold or would you rather ask a blacksmith?

The saying of "patience is virtue" isn't just a cliché, its real.

Most of us have noticed that majority of the things we pray for /ask for keeps coming at the 11th hour, just when we are about to give up or loose hope- This is a mystery of patience, one I can't explain.

The walk of patience with God is like a training, Abraham was an icon of both attributes and we all know his story & how it ended.

And to many believers, praying sounds like a joke to us, though I can guarantee you that you won't know the power and essence of prayer till you've tasted from its cup.

Cultivating a life of prayer is a master key that literally opens every door. Though prayer may not change all things for you but it certainly changes you for all things.

Our daily prayer should be" God I want to be in your will and not in your way".

Forget public opinion, they don't matter.

You might ask questions like, can I walk on my path and still be on God's path?

Yes, you can. When you have accepted God's will and direction as yours, the path becomes one.

Walking in his automatically means walking in yours.

What did you learn?

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments

Brilliant writing skills

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago