The Real Deal (Episode 5)

4 8
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Sorry am late, Hossie didn't want to let me go.

Yes ooo...the date(Bible study jhor)went well oo..

On getting to the lodge, the girls were busy having their usual gist.(immediately all attention turned to me)

"Pearl, how far na?? Why's your face like that??"Goodness asked taking her eyes from her phone for a second.

"K'ihe iwe tara?"(what did you bring?)Chidinma asked amidst a mouthful of cassava flakes and floating berries(Chai..na garri and groundnut ooo, no go confuse)

"Baby(as am fondly called by my friends 'cos of my size),you look so tired, how are you?" May asked calmly.

"Everything went well"I said bluntly as I sank into the bed trying to avoid the aftermath.

Even with that, Nonso still commented "Hian" she remarked sarcastically "you dey vex?" she added(with her chere kam bia pidgin),still trying to style her hair(shey you've seen, achoom nsogbu ooo).

"Just tired "I replied in the calmest voice ever('na me you want use take practice law abi?? Na story you dey find', my heart spat)

"Maybe you should go take a cold bath" May said reassuringly(as if she could read my thoughts).

Hmm...my friends(those people who can tolerate me small, maybe because they are strange also), the most amazing personalities I've ever been with since I got into school (at least they put up with me real good). We did everything together despite the fact that we were in different departments.

Goodness; the untiring jister, Chinonso; our fashionista, May; our mother(the one with a golden heart), Chidinma; the foodie with a large heart(I love her like that). Everything was perfect, we put up with each other quite well(despite all the fights we keep having) despite our differences and excesses. Especially when Jide left, they stood by me and helped me get over him(alongside Hossie).

Although sometimes they can be very annoying(a set of really crazy people) and I try to remember how we ever met(how did I have these kind of friends), I try. Plus the truth behind the fact that they love God(please let's not even go there).

My name is Pearl Prince. Most people call me 'P squared'( I no be musician ooo). A student of one of the greatest Citadel of learning, The University Of Nigeria, Nsukka (fondly called UNN), Where I study English. I stay with my "girls" off campus.

I am light skinned, slim('almost skinny 'I hear my heart say), of an average height and exceptionally beautiful (na Hossie talk am ooo).

I am twenty years old(though my wits tell me I've lived a hundred years already). Am loving, caring and supper intelligent(so they say).

I come from a family of four children and both parents. Everything wasn't always like this, I used to be a happy child (in my own way sha, cos my parents didn't ever think so). But to my parents and siblings I've always been sad(e don tay).

As a child I received comments like "you're strange" "you're weird" "don't you ever laugh"(as if they ever were funny), "you'll get old quick"('you that is forever young, kele Chineke' I'll say beneath my breath), "you always frown"(please leave me I laugh in my own world) "you're always sad"(this world is not my home).

I always gave myself a good reason for my actions. I became very comfortable in my shell and I began to see myself as rejected(of course that's all I thought, afterall..... 'as a man thinketh'....complete it yourself).

As much as my parents and siblings tried, the older I got the worse I became....I always felt something was missing even when Jide was there, I couldn't get enough. And when Hossie came around (a beg, it's too much)

What exactly was going on, something was missing and without it, nothing was going to change.

Don't fret, my parents are amazing but they gave up on me too easily (I guess it was my fault cos I gave them reasons to).

This struggle did not start today, it started way before I even realized...

AM STILL SEARCHING FOR SOLUTIONS

"WHAT IS THE REAL DEAL??" the question on my lips as I wake up panting from this scary nightmares that haunts me in the day.

I GUESS WE SHOULD START FROM THE BEGINNING OF THE FEELING.

Picking up my ringing phone, 'HOSSIE CALLING'(trouble calling)

"hey babe" he called out sweetly, "it's almost time,meet me at the secret place" he added.

"Ok,I'm on my way" I replied and hung up

(Mtcheeww...I don tire,'abeg make I sleep Small' my mind said)

But it can't be possible as the girls just came in(Aba market don open, mtchewwww..I weak)

Lemme come and be going to see Hossie.

"Enjoy yourselves girls"I called out as I slammed the door not waiting for a reply(a prayer date with Hossie was more preferable than Chidinma's 'double edged sworded tongue' right now)

I hope you agree with me......(if you like)

2
$ 0.77
$ 0.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments

nice article ,,keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome, view my page

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure, I did.

$ 0.00
3 years ago