The Real Deal (Episode 4)

0 6
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Next moment after walking out on Hossie, he was back with that beautiful smile and those reassuring words of wisdom and courage. Not minding how I treated him, he'll sit by me and lay my head on his breast while he plays with my hair.

"Pearl, I know you're trying so hard to push me away, but I understand at this point you need someone to stick closely to you, I might not be like Jide but trust me, I'll do better than he ever did" he'll say empathetically with a smile.

"Hmm mm mm" was all I could let out of my lungs as I looked up at his face and saw the purest sincerity of all times.

(I NO SABI WETIN THIS GUY SEE FOR MY BODY)

Hossie was this perfect personality that knows how to balance everything, ranging from work, play, romance and all....it was kind of boring to me. Hossie could wake me up with a phone call at midnight to read my book or pray as the case may be(how cruel is that). He also helps me in areas I don't understand.(He's super intelligent).

The funny thing is that he "never didn't have time for me" but he held so many values like reading daily(he even made a 10-page everyday book review compulsory),meeting him in our usual place, weekly and monthly fast, bible study and so many others (you don't want to know).

"You can't afford to fail, you just have to be the best of you, be ready to face life at every point and be a source of encouragement to all and sundry. So many people are looking up to you" he explains.(shebi I be Jesus ni??)

"OK Hossie" I'll reply with a fake smile.("who cares?" I'll scream within me). This guy seriously was stressing me, I was getting tired and uncomfortable.(the 'phlegmatic' me cries).

I know most times my negative reactions are crystal and Hossie could tell that I wasn't so comfortable but he plays along really well ("she just needs a little more push to get there" he acts).

"You need to be deliberate about building yourself up Pearl" he'll say(as if to hear my thoughts)

"You're your own architect" he'll add.

Though I wasn't really enjoying the process(why on earth should I??), but there were noticeable changes in me. My friends(talk mates) even teased me about it(it felt too good to be true).

"This new guy's doing a good job", Goodness noted.

"Why wouldn't he??" I'll ask.

(We have the most romantic but decent dates ever, he never did anything out of the box that didn't please God, why won't I change???(from the usual me), I thought.

"Maybe we'll get to meet him someday, right Pearl?? Nonso asked jilting me from my thoughts.

Confused and thrown off balance, I almost tripped and fell over nothing. Trying to cover up my shock and gain composure, I just smiled sheepishly and replied "maybe"

("Never" I screamed within me...you girls might just ruin everything)

"You girls not hungry???"asked Chidinma(the foodie amongst us)

Picking our bags we all ran out to our favorite cafeteria...to eat noodles and eggs

Wait oo oo oo.......

Did you ask why I rarely or don't even talk about my parents??? Wait why should I even talk about my parents when the....... ....(my dear long story but I'll cut it short)...

"Pearl, have you forgotten you have a date today?" May reminded me.

Oh!! Time's up....I have a review date with Hossie after lunch with the girls, see them thinking it's ShopRite things...(I know you feel my pain)

Ngwa wish me luck


1
$ 0.08
$ 0.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments