The Real Deal (Episode 14)

5 29
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Immediately I hung up the call, I walked back to the girls still smiling at the way Hossie's voice made me feel(yes I said that,so stop looking at me, his voice still had that effect on me).

"That was Hossie'' I explained.

"We know" they chorused as if it was planned.

"He worries too much Jhor" I said trying to defend myself and saturate the already stirred air(which they made ready to tease me).

In an attempt to go bring the already acidic air I to base I swirled my head and my eyes met Chidinma's who was starring at me as though through a sniper's eye, ready to shoot('how far babe?, 'I dey owe you?' my heart spat. I know what you want Dinma, but I won't give you I said to myself as I turned my eyes away from hers). "What?" I managed to say calmly.

"No, nothing" she said with a smile and then a shrug as they all burst out laughing.

'This was the right opportunity to end this taunting session on na' I advised. So I joined in the laughter(our greatest way to ease stress).

Cool, wasn't it?

But you see these my friends, they refused to let 'sleeping dog lie'.

"You really do like him, don't you?" This time it was Janet.(you can imagine, nwapino)

"Really, you girls never give up, do you?" I said covering up with a big smile as I got up and headed for the room. "I've got to take a shower" I announced as I walked slowly into the room.

"Bye ladies" I said as blowing a kiss and increasing my pace as tried to ignore further taunts. I could hear them laugh but I didn't care, I just needed to shower.

I was having a secret date with Hossie that evening and I did not want to keep him waiting.

"Did you say my friends?", No, I won't tell them. I had to avoid their taunts in anyway possible.

"OH, your questions are too much", "It's not like I enjoy the dates(bible study, prayers, or the rest, but I was getting used to him, don't judge me or 'I'll break your intestine' *in Dinma's voice*)..after all. 'PROXIMITY BREEDS AFFECTION'(argue with your hanging phone)

Minutes later I was awake, At first, everything seemed blurry but I began to recognize the faces of the persons I saw first, I couldn't.

Then I heard something who sounded and looked like a nurse say "She's awake doctor" she announced. "She's finally awake after eighteen days" she cried with a certain excitement I didn't understand. ('What's she saying?' I heard my heart speak for the first time since I woke up).

"Oh my God, Pearl is awake" I heard someone scream and running towards me but was restrained by someone on a white overall(who the hell was she?, my mind questioned me uninterestingly). I wasn't OK, my mind was playing a lot of tricks a on me. I wasn't comfortable, I wasn't me. Waitttttt!!!

'Why am I surrounded by strangers?' My instincts questioned bringing me at alert.

Suddenly, another well built young man who I would describe as a doctor came in with some tools and started checking me. He wrote some things down and asked the persons restraining the girl who wanted running towards me to let her go. Immediately she was let go, she ran towards my bedside as if her life depends on it.

"Pearl, Pearl?" She called out loudly like I was dead. "It's me" she said.

'You who?' My subconscious spat.

She was dark, beautiful,tall and a bit chubby. But I didn't know anything about her. I have never seen anyone like her all my life.

" Hey stop it, you're hurting me" I cried trying to grant my hand which was clenched to hers, some sort of independence but the grip grew tighter as the "doctors and nurses"(I think) interviewed.

"What's going on doctor?" I heard the girl scream, "Why can't she recognize me?" I heard her shout as they took her away.

'Maybe she's a mentally derailed young lady who thinks I looked like some one she knew' I soothed my troubled mind trying to massage my fist that got hurt from her clench(she really is mad I thought)

AT THE DOCTOR'S OFFICE:

"Calm down miss" the doctor said trying to pacify the 'mad girl'.

"Don't tell me calm down" she screamed, "My friend can't recognize me and you ask me to calm down?" She shot again.

"There's something you should know" the doctor started. "I think your friend has amnesia" he dropped the bomb.

"Doctor what do you mean?" I questioned (I was lost I was for Christ sake studying psychology).

"I don't know, I am not totally sure yet but we'll run some tests" he started "I think your friend has lost her memory" he explained as the bomb that was dropped earlier exploded....

I went into the room and got into the shower, I purposely put my head in the water. It was hot and I needed to think.

I had a lot floating in my head and it felt like I was going to explode.

What on earth was wrong with me? I guess I was having those mood swing again but I guess it was different 'cos I felt numb.

Suddenly I couldn't move, my heart felt dead, my brain stopped I couldn't move and then flashes, I saw a lot of things(things I didn't understand).

I screamed, I was suffocating, I needed air. I screamed again but the sound of the shower and music (which I liked playing while 'think bathing' *which i did everyday* drained my voice) but I kept screaming....more than my lungs could carry. Then I realized,there were no more lungs....just water....I had it in my system...I could feel it I was in the ocean...it wasn't i??

Please someone tell me what's going on??????

9
$ 3.69
$ 3.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments

This story is really interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you,dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

it's really amazing article , i hope next article to write better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. I will try.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

welcome, view my article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago