The Most Embarrassing Day Of My Life

2 11
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Day 4

I received a call from a friend named Gentle, that I should get dressed they are going for a traditional wedding at Iheala in Anambra state.

I told him I was not going, I ended the call, minutes later he called again oh boy! did you hear what I told you? We are going for a wedding... Gentle! I am not deaf, I heard you the first time, I said I am not going oh, the line went dead.

Minutes later, he called back again, tell me why you don't want to go? I don't want to go because I don't want to go! He persisted, tell me na, chairman done ready, we go soon drive out, ok I don't have any money, beside, if I come for the occasion we will not come back today, were will I sleep? If I see were to sleep which is not a problem because there are several hotels in Owerri, how do I pay? You can see today is 20th of the month, last month salary has finished.

As I am talking to you now, what I have home and abroad is #500, and this is weekend, make I stay my house manage the food I get, " Occasion no dey finish".

I stated all my concerns, Gentle in his persistent nature, told me I should not worry about anything, that chairman, is the Chairman of the occasion, that he is prepared, that I know he likes, when I am around that. Infact he will; first, pay my hotel room, that during the wedding I should look for a good companion, that will be going to Port Harcourt after the wedding so she will pass the night at the hotel the next day, we all head back to town.

I thought about it, in few seconds, besides this is weekend, I was not expecting any body, and it will be a long weekend without cash so I agreed to join them.

Gentle asked me to wait at air force Junction, which I did, using the #500 in my pocket to take a drop so I will not miss them; if am taking public transport, before they will pick and drop,the driver will tell me it's a public motor, you should go and buy your own.

Immidately I reach the junction, a black 2019 Ford Jeep with siren signaled me I entered the back sit.

Gentle was driving, Chairman, was sitting in front, two other guys which I don't know; were at the back sit (rear sit) from there conversation with chairman they are business men. I greeted chairman, as usual, and everyone in the car, I turned back to look, two other, black Jeeps were part of entourage, I knew they are chairman friends.

Chairman was busy making calls the entire time, while we were paying less attention to his calls but we know they were business calls; some were people looking for financial assistance or the other .

On reaching Owerri, Chairman asked if we should pay for rooms first before heading to the traditional wedding, the guys beside me suggested we go to the wedding venue, on our way back we get the rooms, in Owerri hotel is not a problem but the money to pay, "as if they knew my mind" I said.

On reaching the venue for the wedding; The local security guys started shooting, to give chairman respect, at the same time; for him to show them love, which he reciprocated; he brought #50,000 and gave to eight of them.

Chairman armed officers, had to show the superiority of there gun power from that of the okah made. They shot spuradically into the air to chase away the crowd that was building up around the car's.

Chairman must do like chairman, he threw a bundle of hundred naira notes, to the sky and the crowd rushed it, we matched to the venue of the traditional wedding.

The occasion went on normally. While we were there, my phone rang it was a girl friend I knew in Iheala some years back, she called to confirm, if I was the person she saw, I tried pulling her legs that I was not the one. She walked up to me, we hugged, exchanged pleasantries, I offered her a sit, she was my companion all through the wedding.

I told her how I managed to come for the occasion because my friend Gentle, persuaded me, that i was broke as I was here she laughed about it that am funny.

She was glad she saw me, I remembered all the fun time we had , I reminded her. She whispered, "what ever that happens, let me know." She would like to see me before I go, she left to go prepare dinner for her father.

We started driving out, after the wedding ended, as I noticed. I was contemplating how I will miss her that night, on reaching Owerri, they started another party, I informed her; she agreed to come later.

I am yet to secure a room for my self for the night, Gentle! Gentle!! Gentle!!! How far? for the room na, one bany is coming! he said he is working on it, I kept reminding him, he was still telling me the same thing.

After about thirty minutes, Lydia all dressed up for the party, I was happy seeing her but I was not comfortable because I was without money, all that has been going on in my mind is what if, what if, what if she wants this or that, I was in a state of confusion; if I should tell her to go, another mind, was it would work out well, at the end.

We partied till late in the evening, most of the guys with chairman was kinda of drunk including Gentle, except me, because I want to be sure were I am and what I do, so Lydia; noticed my discomfort, she was a bit worried.

.

.

Gentle, was no where to be found, and it's past 10pm I needed to bath, and Lydia needed to go rest, but Gentle has not given me any room, neither was his mobile number, connecting.

I waited for Gentle, till 12 midnight, he resurfaced, "like an object that fell into water and began to float" with two girls, he was drunk, he said "that Chairman said we should share one room" but his girl came with her friend and they are both sleeping over, I should manage and sleep any place I see that night.

The security guys at the hotel, came to me and said "oga if you are not drinking or doing anything you should go to your room", that this is a hotel or they will go and report me to their manager, chairman has gone to bed, Gentle is drunk, does not know his bearing. I just sat down looking at my life.

I was angry, frustrated, embarrassed and wanted to make a scene in the hotel, but the mopol guys prevented me, every body has gone to rest or enjoy the rest of evening in there room, I was at the pool with Lydia; half drunk, I was embarrassed, frustrated, she sensed that I was feeling for her.

.

.

.

She whispered to me; that I should use her ATM card and pay for a room, I refused, she pleaded and pleaded, I felt some tears drop on my chick bone, I hurriedly used my elbow to wipe it, not to show I was weak.

I told her I will use the ATM on the condition that she borrowed me the money which she agreed.

Hand in hand like two love birds we walked up to the reception, secured a room...

Lesson: Don't always trust friends rather be kind to people it would pay some day.

PS: Lydia and I had fun, I transfered the loan, and extra cash for her up keep that month end.

5
$ 0.38
$ 0.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments

That's how most friends do, they keep persuading to win you then leave you stranded When problems arise. I'm happy you learnt a lesson.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for you comment. Some lessons are learnt the hard way.

$ 0.00
3 years ago