The Farthest I Have Gone Away From Home.

0 13
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Day 3

I opened my mail and saw I was given a scholarship to go study at the University of Massachusetts for three weeks.

University of Massachusetts had asked for students from Nigeria to come for an exchange program.

The next morning, i was at the airport waiting for the first flight to Abuja.

I waited till about 9 am when the flight was ready to be boarded, it was arik air.

We were instructed to put on our sit belts, shown the emergency breathing apparatus and how to use them.

I requested for a cup of coffee, because my stomach was cold. Perhaps, I forgot to eat dinner the previous evening, I was busy packing my luggage.

The coffee warmed me up, I knew that will probably be my breakfast. Perharps, my lunch for the day.

I was in Abuja in 45 minutes, the hotel were I had a reservation picked me up at the airport, chauffeur driven, with an armed officer, I felt very important.

I arrived at Abuja from Port Harcourt to met the others from different States. The one from Rivers State "Stella" .

On arrival at the hotel, the manager, was warm and receptive, he offered to show me my room, I requested to sit at the bar because it was still early to go lay on the bed. Besides, I have a long flight to the US, the next days.

He offered a bottle, of moet Champagne, while he was excused to attend to other administrative matters in the hotel.

I was at the bar, enjoying the ambience of the hotel, with a song from Steve Wonders playing at the background, the bar, was full with guest, drinking and gisting over issues.

My attention, was drawn to a pretty damsel, looking like a Hollywood actress, I was dumbfounded, she stood about 6 inches tall; with her cream trousers suit, she was looking beautiful.

She walked to my table, good day sir, please can I join you? Most... I motioned her, to please sit, I stood up, held the sit and she was comfortably sitted, she complimented me,being a gentle man. I was flabbergasted, because that is, what I ought to do as a gentle man.

She requested for a wine cup to join me in the bottle of champagne and strawberries, we introduced our selves.

We talked for a while, about; political issues, business, men and women. I was quite impressed she was smart and informed.

It occurred to me,I have not had any solid food in my stomach since morning, I requested for a National dish, while Sophia took Chicken and Chips.

I walked her to room in the hotel, fortunately! It was opposite mine which was fate.

After bathing , I laid on the bed couldn't sleep, I was thinking about the Sophia! I meet today!

I called her up luckily she was awake, we talked for a while she requested if she could come over to my room, I accepted .

I called the bar, ordered for bottle of moet, chicken pepper soup, minutes later she was in my room, looking more beautiful, without makeup, I complimented her.

We talked more intimately, she was going to Canada for a business meeting, I was heading to Boston for a training. She gave me a peck and slept off in my room

I placed order for Sopia who was still laying on the bed, I was watching CNN, anything interesting! She enquired? not really, still the constant negative news. We both laughed, she complained of headache, I quickly reached my luggage, give her some aspirin.

We parted at the hotel by noon, exchanged phone numbers and email addresses.

I joined my fellow students, luckily my Sister "Stella"was part of the people going for the training.

We boarded KLM flight off to Amsterdam in the flights we chatted most of the time. My fellow students coming from Abuja had kilishi a "Nigerian dried meat". We ate it until we got to Amsterdam.

We arrived early hours of the morning. Waited for some hours entered another flight to Boston direct. Two buses we there already waiting for the 18 of us from Nigeria.

We were taken to one of the best hotels. Not far from the school. We had a day to relax and resume school by monday morning.

Monday morning we were taken to school, first was a snap shot. Then taken to the faculty of conflict management.

Boston is surrounded with schools. Ivy league schools like Harvard University, Boston University, University of Turfs. University of Massachusetts had planned with other universities in the area to train us on a particular area.

We were there in the middle of June, in Boston on Fathers day! We were all taken to a church for the fathers blessing.

We were also taken to a mosque for an Imam blessings. Because, In the group we had christains and moslems

In Harvard we learnt negotiations, Boston university we did inter Ethnic Conflict, Turf University hosted talks, talked extensively on tools of managing conflct.

We were given souvenirs from each school. After every class.

We had three weeks of learning and learning from 7am to 7pm. By 8pm we were on the street of Boston shopping.

We were on every train, to very far places in Boston.

The height of our shopping was going to Victoria secret shop. We spent the whole day enjoying the perfumes.

We had fun. We were treated with different delicacies. We ate in different restaurants.

Mexican restaurant was the best as their food looked like normal Nigerian meal.

The last day of school we were treated by the Dean of the college. We were dressed in ur different attires. It was the most interesting time.

We were coming back with the best tools in handling conflict.

Also coming back with a very wonderful treat from University of Massachusetts.

An experience we will never forget

Lesson: The journey of life is not an easy one it's only the strong willed, who have faith in God can succeed.

PS: Am still in touch with Sophia.

4
$ 0.00
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments