Kindness In The Midst of Storms

0 18
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

This morning, I made a commitment to be kind to someone in my physical space today. (I'm reading Olson's The Slight Edge .)

This doesn't mean I'm always unkind. It's just that for today, I decided be deliberate in doing good to one person. At least ONE human being.

I decided on a lone beneficiary because I felt I wouldn't interact with many people today since I work from home. However, because there was some outdoor business to execute, I found myself away from home.

When the opportunities came, my earlier commitment was consigned to oblivion, but I spontaneously sympathized and lent help to at least THREE persons today.

I feel better tonight, basking in the meek pride that comes with selflessness. The overwhelming guilt of ingratitude I had carried about has been lifted because my decision to be intentionally kind has made me more conscious of the abundance of goodness around me.

Today, I have deposited a penny in my Bank of Happiness, firmly believing I can do that tomorrow and next. Hopefully, the interest will compound.

Now, here's why I'm putting this out here. This year has been tough on most of us. But I believe that we can 'heal' better if we make conscious efforts to be kind to others while being aware of the many good things in our own lives.

May the universe be kind to us all.

1
$ 0.00

Comments