Immortal

0 4
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

I'm sorry I had to call you, Mrs. Adam said sobbing.

What is it? I asked. You don't exactly call me often, I added.

How do I tell him? He's going to come home any minute from now, she said breaking softly into a couch that was placed by her kitchen's entrance.

OK? Tell who what? I queried.

I've been blackmailed, she stood on her feet removing some invincible dust from her knee length gown.

Who blackmailed you and what did you do to be blackmailed? I questioned fixing my eyes on hers.

She turned to her maids who were tending to a pot of oyster leaves on fire and slowly all 6 of them walked out of the kitchen.

Mrs. Adams can you get a hold of yourself and tell me who blackmailed you? I said as I walked to the granbak mythical leaves that never burned in any fire, instead they bloomed when in contact with one.

Why do you have granbak leaves Mrs. Adams? I asked.

People only use this unless they are trying to keep the toothed ear priestess at arm's length.

Yes you're right she replied looking at me in a rather convincing way, I don't want her around. I believe she blackmailed me.

The toothed ear priestess blackmailed you? I busted to a laugh. 400 years of my existence I haven't come across any, they are myths and will always remain so.

You're a believed to be a myth but here you are, right in my kitchen. Although no one has ever heard your name, she added.

From what I've heard, the toothed ear priestess only attacks ladies who have been unfaithful to their husbands, are you guilty as charged? I asked.

Yes I am, It was a mistake. She began to sob and now I've been blackmailed by her. I don't know how she got to know about it, she whispered in a dramatic accent.

Well she isn't called the toothed ear priestess for nothing, I smiled.

I'm glad you find humor in our time, I heard you were cold and never mingled with humans about 100 years ago but now you walk in our midst.

I am what they say I am, I've been called a lot of things but I'm certain I wasn't called here to have a chat with you. You want me to confront the toothed ear priestess don't you? I asked

Can you do that for me?

No I can't do that for you, you mortals keep asking for the impossible. Talk to your husband tonight, that's all I can say. I replied in a cold tone.

I accidentally met the flame lady 200 years ago in a restaurant down town. I believed she was a myth too until she revealed what she was to me. I'll tell you more, if you'll listen but she wasn't paying much attention.

The flame lady and I had a bad confrontation, she thought I was human and I did likewise.

She is what you teach your kids in their history books, eyes of fire, hands as cold as death itself and a taming aura of submission.

Did she get to you? Mrs. Adams asked

She nearly but she left at edge of breaking me. Her last words were" you are fortunate, you are who you are".

Talk to your husband and the toothed ear priestess will let you be. I said comforting her.

How do you know this? She asked

We've all heard a lot about ourselves, its best we don't cross one another's path.

But I heard you helped the magic man of Notre dam when his wife had an affair too, she sobbed as she spoke.

Yes I did, but now I'm trying to live a normal life, I replied.

An immortal with a normal life? Such irony..... Though I know you missed that boat the day you were born. She said laughing.

And you will miss your marriage if you don't do as I say. Tell no one of me, the normal parting words I told every mortal I came across.

Does this mean you're leaving? She asked in a tender voice. You won't punish me as your legend says? She asked wearing a quizzical look.

Don't push it mortal, I said as I walked out of her kitchen.

To be continued......

#Fiction

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments