Down The Memory Lane

0 19
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

The memories haunts me every night in my sleep, I'm sure if I had a memory loss, I'll never forget that night I allowed a mere quarrel generation into eon regrets. It's no story I love girls, guess every man is labeled a womanizer but I play down on it because I grew up with my 4 sisters and I have an idea of their tricks.

It wasn't up to two years when we moved into that area, I was a novice and shy person looking for friends when we met by the well on a sunny afternoon, as small as i was I still understood what love meant, I was the lullaby from a mother to a crying child nor was it a father showing his daughter how to tie her shoe lace.

This was different, her face was so smooth and I could guess she just accompanied her friend who came to fetch water from the well, her accent was well polished and I had to adjust to fit into the equation. We exchanged greetings left. Two days after, I met her again at the evening market where she went to buy fufu and was stuck waiting for change.

There was it, my chance and I took it, we become friends, the story of a bolt and nut, a screw that's always hugging a jack, my parents never knew her because they were over protective of their son but hers knew their daughter has a new friend. I finally met her parents on one visits and I got the interview and orientation of my life.

2 years gone, we bonded well and I guess I started picturing the future. Don't laugh at me okay! we all do that when we have that special person in our life yet something was wrong with me, ANGER. Yes, anger issues, the way it tore me apart when the feeling comes, shifting away my morals and unleashing the hell from the cell where I kept home training.

31st October 2006, I visited when her parents traveled, we dined and talked, in the midst of our conversation we had a little heat up that I could have allowed pass but I didn't, instead I allowed ANGER roar, shutting the door behind while using the exit. She pleaded and asked for forgiveness but I was too angry to listen to a mere "I'm sorry, fine you win".

Left her compound back to my house filled with anger yet I covered it up with a smile as I silenced my SAGEM phone, refused to pick her calls and read her messages, in the process I slept off. The next morning was unspeakable, my attention was called to your dead body that would still be breathing if I had open your messages and not allow my pride of always winning consume me.

I lost you NINI, as you fondly call me. I lost you due to my stupidity and it still hurts when I see you in my dreams. Ever since you left EARTH, I have met a lot, even when they're wrong, I still let it slide and it became my weakness that's been used against me severally.

On this day 14 years ago, I left you without knowledge you'll pass on, I say "I'M SORRY ". I sleep with a heavy heart every time , even as I type this I'm struggling to move from the bed because I can feel a ROCK buried in my chest. So I promise you NINI, to be more faithful and loyal to the next woman that comes and be a better man after every broken-ship.

RIP NINI, NINI still loves you

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for Greatness96
3 years ago

Comments