Some People's Ignorance is Awe-Inspiring

0 17
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

Some people on Hetlife and Faceborg really do amaze me. They amaze me by the fact that despite their being there longer than I have been, they have learned so little from the community, from people of different ethnicity, income brackets and genders, to themselves. I cannot imagine how exhausting it is to be them, how much effort they must spend maintaining their mental walls and barriers in order to remain ignorant. It takes so little effort to do nothing more demanding than reading others' writing(s), be they profiles, captions on images, posts or discussions (both in and out of groups/channels) and asking questions.

PPhoto by Ksenia Chernaya from Pexels

There are approximately thirteen million users on the good old fartloaf and 2.2 billion on FB. I don't know how many are on this site. Assuming half of those people write nothing more than a few paragraphs the entire time they're on social media and only a tenth of that is interesting to any particular individual, we're not short of material and opportunities for looking through some tiny window into other people's lives as they portray them online. I simply don't understand how anyone can not be interested in that, preferring to live in one's own little preference bubble and fighting to keep out any people or ideas that might burst it. That sites like FB implement algorithms that maintain them is bad enough (and a topic for a different post), but for people to passively sit back and be happy with that state of affairs baffles me.

Then again, I'm a nerd. I don't always understand people and they fascinate me.


If you liked this writing (or any of the others I've typed up and posted), please leave a tip or sponsor me. Thank you.

Lead image: Photo by Olya Kobruseva from/on Pexels

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

Comments