Should I mine Raptoreum? Is it worth the effort?

0 37
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

For me personally, the answer to those questions is "no, not at all". My CPUs (a tenth/eleventh generation i5 and a sixteen-year-old i7) simply aren't powerful enough to produce decent hashrates, even when working together. (I'm getting an average of about 1.2Kh on a good day, since Monday. Just to be breaking even, given how expensive my electricity is, I'd need an average hashrate of at least 5Kh. To make a profit, I'd need at least 10Kh, preferably closer to 20Kh). I also don't have the money to shell out for Ryzen 9 5*-series or i9 CPUs (since I'd need to buy mobos and RAM as well if I were to go with a desktop/tower rig). However, if anyone does have such gear and electricity is cheap for you, I strongly suggest you check out the output of the Raptoreum Mining calculator and decide if mining RTM is right for you, since you could potentially bring in up to $6.00 USD worth of RTM a day. YMMV, of course, depending on other costs (including electricity and pool fees).

Open the above image in a new tab and remove the "width" parameter to view it in full size.

Since I started running the experiment on Monday, using XMRig 6.16, my total balance is sitting at 11.99134183 RTM, so I'm definitely running at quite a large loss and will be stopping the experiment as soon as I receive a payout (most likely at 50 RTM), which I will then HODL in the hope that Raptoreum prices increase to a point where exchanging it will recoup my costs, if not net me a profit. At this point, I might as well paste my Raptoreum wallet address below and beg for a handout (although I'm not going to do that); it'd probably prove a more successful/more efficient and less costly way of getting hold of some.

Screenshot copyright Coin Gecko. (Open the above image in a new tab and remove the "width" parameter to view it in full size or visit the link to Coin Gecko.)

After this, I'm going to see if I have any success/profitability mining Ravencoin (RVN) again, although I won't be surprised to find out I don't/won't. Since mining Raptoreum isn't going to work out for me, I'm dead certain that mining Monero will be even worse/more of a waste of time and energy. Unfortunately, the Electroneum (ETN) network has changed so that it's no longer possible to mine it. otherwise, I would be looking into that, too (with both my phones and my laptop, since I'm running BlueStacks on it).


Lead image copyright raptoreum.com

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

Comments