Getting Hiccoughs and Hives While Trying to Set Up Accounts

0 18
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

Recently (a day or two ago), I finally created a Hive account. The first bump in the road was that on creating my account, I didn't put in enough ETH to get any HIVE into it. (I just paid for the account.) The next issue was that, having signed into Splinterlands, I bought the spell book and set my username to something other than my Hive wallet address/ID. Only too late did I realise that I was supposed to. Once it's set, it's set for good and I cannot change it (which means no earnings for playing, so no good). I also cannot create a Hive account with that username (registration forms complain that it is already in use). To get around that, I have created a new Hive account. Hopefully, I can register on Splinterlands with that new account. Otherwise, I've wasted time and money.

Update: It now turns out that I can't use an existing address as my Splinterlands user account name; I have to enter a new username and Splinterlands will create a new Hive account with it. That's fantastic; I now have four Hive accounts, two of which I haven't a cooking clue how to access because when I request the keys, I get an error message stating that keys cannot be retrieved and I must email Support for help. Aargh! Hive seemed like such a great idea in the beginning. but now I'm definitely wondering if it actually is. At least the Hive Keychain wallet can handle multiple accounts. If I had just logged in with my initial account, I wouldn't have this problem. Ouch; Splinterlands really does bite!)

Thirdly, having used Inji to create an account, I cannot get it to recognise/integrate either of my hive accounts. After I type and save my posting key in the appropriate textbox, I am prompted to enter my "Encryption Key/Password". I don't know what I'm supposed to enter here (and I can't find a "contact support" or "get help" link on the site). There's no tooltip or info text to inform me of what it wants, either. (I've tried every key and password I have for the account, to no avail. While the "Save" button enables, clicking it doesn't submit the form or indicate any signs of having updated the account settings. This is particularly obvious when I try to write a post: I get the warning "Hive is not enabled". How am I supposed to earn Hive on a hive-based microblogging site if I can't connect my account? Grr!)

If anybody knows what I'm supposed to enter there (password or key), please reply with instructions. Thank you in advance.

Oh well, I guess I will know better when it comes to warning people about potential gotchas.)

Lead image photo by Ion Ceban @ionelceban from/on Pexels

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of GreatWhiteSnark
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for GreatWhiteSnark
2 years ago

Comments