Should she go?

0 11
Avatar for GraceFilled32
2 years ago

Apparently, my cousin is having a hard time starting out her nuclear family. She is struggling convincing her husband to have a separate space as husband and wife. They will also be expecting their baby months from now. That would really mean they have their own house or may be, a room that is all theirs.

I was asked for advice by this cousin of mine. I thought at first that she was soliciting some advice for her assignment in school but then she told me it was she, who is experiencing some kind of situation. It's not an entirely new set up in this country but then it is always new for an individual who is experiencing it the first time.

Her husband's family-his mother, brother, sister-in-law, children, etc. are all living with them at her husband's house. My cousin wanted them to leave so that they can have a space to breathe. But then, she was being labelled as someone who is nitpicky and acting like a rich one. The husband is okay with the current set up but I do feel my cousin who is currently being picked on by everyone.

As for me, if only possible, a family should indeed have a separate space to live in. So that they can solve their problems without others having to intervene. It is also a lot healthier for a starting family to be on their own, just being guided by loved ones around.

But it does not necessarily mean that she should shoo everyone away, those who were already staying at his husband's house. That would also be a rash act. She should at least give them time to find a place for themselves. On the other hand, those family members should have expected the guy to be married at some point in his life that they also need to respect his family's decision, including my cousin who is his wife now.

And here comes the conflict. Her husband's family deem it too much for them to move out while my cousin, who is pregnant, at the same time studying and working, wants to have a privacy. She told her husband what she wanted. She told him everything. But her husband does not listen to her, as if she was not his priority in the first place. That may be hurting my cousin a lot.

Should she just consider getting out of marriage with the man that she loves? Besides, they do not have papers yet and that it is still very early. Should she leave? Or find a way to solve their conflict?

I am not an expert when it comes to these kinds of things so I told her to seek advice somewhere else. I did give her some advice but she shouldn't rely solely on it. I advised her to think a thousand times. I advised her to decide what she needs to do. She doesn't want to live in misery for her whole life and it would be an almost impossible feat to change a man's stance overnight. She has a choice to make. While not much is at stake.

I told her that her life may become like a drama if she insists to become a martyr.

Perhaps, the best advisor is Him. Who else? I hope she also finds time to seek help from Him because it is only He who can give the best things in life.

What I personally experienced is not having my opinions regarded well by my partner. But I may just also be partly at fault. Thinking back, I should just have kept quiet and observed and used my logical thinking before acting out. But then, I may have forgotten those that made me go mad as well.

Anyway, I just wish my cousin well. I hope she will find a way to solve her current problem.


Meanwhile, let me thank the one behind this platform. I am very much delighted for the 0.00559763 BCH that I already have right now. It may not be that big yet but I am growing it. I have to pay someone in the near future for the help they gave me before. The payment I will give will be in BCH. They lent me their BCH before, I am going to pay with the same crypto.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for GraceFilled32
2 years ago

Comments