Daily Nuggets

0 7
Avatar for Goldie
Written by
3 years ago

it's was already a year since I graduated from University. and as usual I started moving about with brown envelope submitting my application almost everywhere (some in advance)

but all the places I submitted was either as a sales rep or something close because I was afraid of 'big organizations'

after a few months of trying, a new radio station was established and it was already recruiting. it was not far from home.

my mom kept asking

"why haven't you dropped your application yet"

I always had an excuse each time she asked.

I couldn't tell my mom that her University graduate has FEAR for big organizations with mighty doors, articulated floors, ladies walking in 6 inch stiletto, men dressed in suits like they where going for a wedding, janitors looking so at ease and everyone walking comfortable like they all came from the same home"

I was a sick ass looser.. yeah cheers.

A week later my mom forced me to go to the new radio station. I went with my sister but she was asked to stay at the reception while I went inside to see the secretary.

poor me!!

my palms where sweaty, my feet cold as ice. I was nervous and anxious. I felt everyone around me had noticed.

I walked slowly into the secretary's office almost tiptoeing.....a lady was seated in a not-so-official dress..

I quickly announced what I came for and was ready to leave when I handed her my documents. she must have sensed my uneasiness as she smiled widely and tried to create a small conversation. and all of a sudden we got talking like two old friends.

when I left the radio station that day my perception of 'big organizations' changed.

only then did I realize that I had been living on a stereotype that I built in my mind.

why am I sharing this?

there are a lot of things we have wanted to do but the FEAR in us keeps dragging us back.

I don't know what your 'big organization' is.

it could be relationship

it could be job related

it could be ANYTHING

but I'm here to tell you that whatever is holding you back is not as important as that thing you're hoping to do/get.

take a leap and see how far it goes.

#Goldie🖤

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Goldie
Written by
3 years ago

Comments