Mining Matters: A brief understanding of mining industry in the Philippines.

0 10
Avatar for GodisGood
2 years ago

When I took up mining engineering course, I have no idea what world i would be facing. I just continued what I have started. I just let myself endear the course, the people (my classmates and professors,) and the future that awaits me. However, amidst with my study are the growing concerns, problems, and issues regarding the effect of mining industry in the Philippine. It was drastic and uncertain. I was a witness to the jam packed fora I had attended with mining proponents debating with the environmentalists. As a student journalist and as a Filipino, I should probably care with everyone’s main query: why we have to say yes to mining?

The most intense campaign of no to mining in Palawan is the never ending debate mining issue. I could still remember way back in 2009. When there was a campaign drive in UseP. I even held the campaign paper yet I didn’t sign it. It was just my choice to be aware of the issue and was uncertain on which side I would be. Thus, on that very day, I started to amass information and evidences on what really rooted the argument.

In a news paper ad, the chamber of mines of the Philippines accused of the Save Palawan Movement of lying, saying that grade school students propped up the movement’s P3.5 Million collection of their signature campaign. It may sound absurd but it is really is. If we consider the over generalization of no to mining in other areas in the Philippines aside from Palawan, then that would be a distorted argument. We should consider that if it is done responsibly, mining is our country is a big ticket out from poverty. We cannot say no instantly to stop mining activities just because we believe that it is an environmental destroyer but rather let’s dig deeper on the real score. I’ll ask you: who among us don’t have cellphone? does anyone of us don’t use electricity? who among us wanted to use stones and marbles to construct a house? it is pretty to note that an average cellphone contains about 24 mg of gold, 250mg of silver, 3800mg of cobalt and 9mg of palladium. Even televisions or computers comprises several parts which originated from mining industry. From constructions to polishing houses with different equipment up to the electricity in our houses, all of which came from mining tools. Through mining our lives became easier, convenient and comfortable. It can even boost country’s economic growth up to 7-9% in a manner that mitigates impact on environment and had already improved the lives of the people.

With this, I believe that it is not the solution if we ban mining in our country. If we can only harness mining, we can produce hundreds of viable jobs, bring basic utilities like water and electricity and build more roads and houses. If we ban mining, illegal mining would exist. I would prefer mining but with strict parameters. Since the country and the people benefit from mining, there are four conditions to consider. First the country gets a 60:40 share of values from extracted minerals (60% for the Filipinos and 40% for the foreign investors.) ; second, the institutional capacity of the government must be put in place; third, the social and environmental costs are counted; and fourth the money for mining must be used to create another capital including infrastructure in the countryside.

I could say that mining industry is not perfect, which sometimes leads to the perception that it is dangerous and destructive. But the trust is, it brings more good than harm.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for GodisGood
2 years ago

Comments