Work: Onsite vs. At Home

4 23
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

It is still vivid in my memory lane how we panicked in the office because we would have a lockdown and I have to hurry and go home to my kids. I remembered how I shocked I was because we are asked to stay in a hotel near site and I would have to leave my kids and family. A lot of things were unsure, there was fear and anxiety plus the pressure at work piled up into one and the urge not to go to work because of the thought that I may get infected by the virus and who knows if I can even go back home, if I can when?

A lot of uncertainties but just a month after being away from my family we were allowed to work at home. Now let me site some advantage and disadvantages of working at home and site.

The goal is for everyone to know that it doesn't mean we are staying at home we don't feel the pressure and of course, it doesn't mean that they are staying on site they aren't affected with the COVID Scare and that they are fine.

WORKING ON SITE

Source: Unsplash

Advantages

  • Faster Internet Speed

  • Real time IT assistance when needed

  • Real time answer to queries

  • Brick and Mortar training

  • Social and organizational skills improvement

  • Team work

  • Can stroll around or have your ME Time before heading home

Disadvantages

  • Travel time

  • Health at stake

  • Rain/Shine you gotta work

  • The hassle of wearing face shield and mask

WORKING AT HOME

Source: Facebook

Advantages

  • No travel time

  • Earning at your own comfort

  • You can be with family

  • Way safer from the virus since lesser contact from the public

  • Can work with comfy clothes

Disadvantages

  • Delayed support

  • Internet issue which may caused delayed with task completion

  • Prone to anxiety and depression

  • No breather

  • High risk of Stress

  • Lesser ME Time

There! Saddest part of working from home is some would think you are okay to open your PC and available 24/7.

Working from home is depressing at times because you got no one to talk to regarding your struggles completing your task because your family can't relate. You feel shy to ping your colleagues because they might be busy. You can't have a breather. As for example, after I get up from work then I have to attend household chores, my kids having tantrums and there are cases when everything like the pressure from work and all the moms duty piles up that I would choose to just sit down and close my eyes. It is both emotionally and physically draining.

Working virtually has a lot disadvantages than advantages but hey! Don't get me wrong I am not complaining but rather tryin to make you realize that if you are a colleague working on site or a Boss who has subordinates working from home please respect their time and ask them if how are they?

Because you never can tell that it is what they actually needed and that they might feel a certain emotion that you never know because you can't see them.

But do know I am thankful of this set up. Just that there are cases I would needed a breather. A way to relieve my stress from both environment and sometimes I am deprived because I have to do moms duty. So ideally we have to also work on communication, letting people know that you need help. But not everyone would undertand that.

I am just grateful with my Boss (don't worry he can't read this in case you are thinking I am trying to complement him to fish for salary increase or what not LOL!). But yeah I am grateful to him because he can actually understand.

I am also happy that I get to deal with Proferssional colleagues turned into friends.

CONCLUSION

Working from home or onsite has both advantages and disadvantages. You just gotta make sure to be open and evaluate things before you criticize. Ask questions and one best thing is communicate.

Shoutout to my SPONSORS πŸ’š

4
$ 4.50
$ 4.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.04 from @bheng620
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ganyan mararanasan ko once ma jobless na ako 🀣🀣

$ 0.04
3 years ago

Hahahah wag naman may mga work n dito sa pinas na pwd sa bahay lang or pwd m na e career pagging crypto enthusiast.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're right, both has pros and cons, i preffer a mixture of both, and take the most of it :D

$ 0.04
3 years ago

Yes. Ill go to lesser evil haahhaah

$ 0.00
3 years ago