Premonition

8 47
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Have you ever experienced having a dream that happened in reality?

Like you had a certain dream and one day when you were doing something it is like a "deja vu" because it happens the same thing as how it was on your dream?

Filipino people are a fan of believing myths and has so many superstitious beliefs. Our folks would tell us not to do this and that based on experience and of course superstitions.

Since I was a child I used to have a dream or receive a sign that something bad or good might happen.

Some or most of my dreams usually is a bad omen. It is like it will give me a sign that I should prepare for something bad to happen in my life.

What are those kind of dreams that I considered a bad omen?

Source: Unsplash

Riding on a boat - It is said that if you dream that you were on a boat, yatch or anything related to it and sailing that means,"someone close to you will die".

The boat symbolizes a coffin while the sea symbolizes tears.

Wedding - whenever you dream about someone getting wed or maybe you getting wed it would mean someone like a relative or family member will die.

Coffin/Funeral- on the other hand this means someone close to you or someone you know will get married.

Source: Unsplash

Flood/Water- tears or a problem that would make you cry and miserable is coming.

Source: Unsplash

Am I even making any sense here? LOL!

I didn't believe in this before. Believe me, I don't just accept or believe anything about superstitions because for me it doesn't really makes sense. But it all changed when I had experienced different things that sort of justified my premonitions.

Source: Unsplash

The first time I asked my mom when I dreamed about riding a boat with my grandfather (my fathers side) she said I better pray because it is a bad omen but didn't take it seriously. After a couple of days my grandpa died.

Frankly speaking, how can I take such seriously right ? Especially that my grandpa was doing good by that time. Still it happened. It was all so sudden yet I thought it could have been a coincidence.

Then there is this year that I dreamed something related to those that I mentioned above for like 5 consecutive days or so. In my dream I was trying to get up from the water and I was full of mud. There was also a time when I tried to go somewhere by sailing and a time when I dreamed about a wedding. Then just by the following month my Grand Ma (mother side) then after a year I guess my Grand Pa (mother side) died.

But the most painful thing was when I dreamed that I am getting married but when I was walking down the aisle I saw blood stains on my wedding gown. I thought that I am having a period on my wedding day! I even laughed at it when I woke up because that was funny for me and I was too young back then to even think of getting married. I thought it was just because I get to read a lot of novels.

Then I heared my mom talking to my dad that she also dream about wedding.

Days after my father died. Yes he died.

I cried my heart out for not doing anything to go against it but there is something in me that says I cannot do something if it is bound to happen. There is this voice that kind of trying to calm me down and make me understand that it is their fate and I can't go against it.

There are cases that I woke up crying because I had a bad dream again, some premonitions and it made me feel depress and anxious all the time waiting what might happen and if I'm gonna make it. I often asked myself, "Am I normal?".

There are even cases that I see a flashes of events as to what might happen on a certain person eventhough I just happened to had an eye contact with the person on the street or somewhere else and it makes me nervous. I don't know the person but I can sudeenly see what might happen to him. Like if he/she might ran into an accident or he is about to receive a bad news or he would surely have a great day.

One scenario was, I saw a person why I was walkin and just before our eye contact he was talking to someone along the street and he said, "I will have an interview, I'm nervous". Then when our eyes met I saw sadness. His face looks sad and gloomy even when it is obvious that he prepared for the interview. At the back of my mind I knew that he won't get hired. Still I utter a simple prayer.

Day passed by I got busy and forgot the said encounter. But one afternoon as I was walkin on the same street going home I saw the same guy talking to the same person and I overheard he was didn't get the job.

There are times when I asked myself,"Why can't I do something?".

If its that persons fate then it will be, I really have no power changing the future. I really got no power to change anything but I find myself weird all the time.

Another thing is there is this neighbor who used to smile at me whenever he sees me there are even cases he would ask if how am I. He was my fathers friend and he even cried when he died. I got used to those acts of him and somehow appreciates it. Because now a days it is seldom that people would ask that question with concern. Most of the time that question is asked for formality or just because you ran out of words. (HAHA!)

Going back, so one time I saw him sitting just beside the street talking to our other neighbors. I didn't really look at him way too long its just like it happened that my eyes landed on them and I continued to walk away. But I suddenly stopped walking when I saw some flashes of coffins and events that may happen to him.

I looked back and noticed that he just landed his eyes on me and said," Oyy anak Oca!" which means that, "Oyy Oca's child". His usual greeting. Oca is my fathers nickname that's why.

Days later, he died. He suddenly become ill, got hospitalized and when I was heading home from school I noticed there's a coffin in the chapel that I often pass by.

There are times when I am just busy over something then all of a sudden I feel nervous its like a sign something bad might happen to me again. So I stop what I am doing and pray. It is never easy to handle such because it can really cause mental issues if you won't try so hard to fight against it. I got used to neglecting these premonitions and it doesn't affect me that much now since I started to pray daily wherever or whenever I am or I feel like I want to or need to. Even when I am in the middle of working, eating and etc.

The only thing that I am keeping my eye on is my sister because she is experiencing the same thing. There was a time when I got so ill that she suddenly cried and hugged me so tight saying I should pray to God because she is seeing bad premonitions or bad omen. She is seeing me inside a coffin. Everytime she looks at me she is like having this day dream what would happen to my funeral and it made her anxious for days not until she told me," Ate God have answered your prayers".

Ate means sister.

And I was like, "why do you say so?"

She replied, " Your face is way brighter than the past days and I cannot see anything regarding what I told you about".

Indeed I felt so much better that day til I got better. I prayed so hard because there were a lot of unfinished business and I don't wanna leave my family.

I know everything sounds weird, 
and I am not forcing you to
believe it.

Published: February 23, 2021

6
$ 7.06
$ 6.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.01 from @EvilWillow
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You are so strong. I don't even know if I can handle the things you have been through

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Well I never really thought I can be tagged as strong as I often cry whenever I have premonitions but seeing your comment and the others so as with my close friends reaction, maybe I am but really I am afraid as well. I sometimes gets paranoid while looking at my family coz I might see something... If only I have the ability to stop whatever bad thing that would happen I would.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beautiful dreem 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. By the way, you are being tagged as spam by the algorithm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's depressing. πŸ₯Ί I don't wanna know who will be in danger. My anxiety level could not bear the sadness it would take if it comes true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed but eventually I got used to it. Just all of a sudden its gone. I have not dreamed or given premonitions anymore but I always have this gut feeling whenever I met someone and that someone would not bring any good to me I would suddenly feel a certain nervousness. Kahit di ko talaga sya iniisip bigla ko nafe.feel. Kaya ako na umiiwas bcoz I had the same feeling before di ako nakinig. Nagtiwala ako. Ayun tinakbo pera ko πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…. Di naman ako nagpapautang pang negosyo dapat yun namin pro bigla di n makontak.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha. Naging usapang pera na pala. πŸ˜… di ko inexpect yan ha.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahaha oo e... Ganun talaga... Pero yun nga pag ramdam ko may kakaiba di ko pinupush na maging ka close yung tao civil lng or kung maging close man meron limit sa mga bagay na e open up ko... May tendency akong mag sabi ng talambuhay sa isang upuan lng kaya limit na ako dun πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago