One of the most heartbreaking call I handled...

6 43
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

As a call center agent it is hard not to engage our emotions with our job. Contrary to customers thoughts about us that they are" just another customer"most of the time we are affected by our calls.

When customer is frustrated we are more frustrated not because we are angry with them but because we imagine ourselves being on their shoe.

What is my scope and support?

I work for a certain telco account.

Apologies but due to privacy and 
security policy I am not allowed 
to mention the company.

So yes, this company offers phone service to the customers.

One day, I received a call comin from a 73 years old customer.

How did I know? Because had a lil chitchat throughout the call.

Also the conversation that I will be posting are not the whole convo. I will skip some parts for security as well.

This is how she stated her issue:

"Hi Dear! My problem is I cannot contact my son. It keeps dropping off everytime I dial his number."

So as a representative I got curious as to why, so while tryin to make her feel I am willing to help and that I will do my best to get the issue fix I started to access my tools in order to know what went wrong.

But what got me worried is that the service looks good in the system. No issue detected and her connection is great, so I asked:

"Maam, are you currently using the phone in calling in?"

She replied:

"Yes I am"

Then I said:

"Ohh, great! Now were you able to contact anyone like your friends or other relatives?"

She said:

"I can contact anyone just fine. But I guess it is not working because I cannot reach my son."

So I told her:

"Hmm I see. It could be that your son's phone is not working or he may have encountered issues on his end without you knowing it because if you can call us and your other friends then that means phone should be working."

She got so worried and told me:

"Ohh okay, but I am really worried. It has been a while since we last talked. I can't even remember. Can you do me a favor? "

I replied:

"Sure Ma'am as long as I can."

She said:

"Can you call this number *toot* (of course I forgot the number and even if I remembered I can't post it here guys lol). That is my son's number. Can you check if you can reach him? Please tell him I wanna talk to him and that I miss him so much!" (she sounded like crying or about to cry)

I said:

"Sure thing! Let me grab my other line here. Would just have to place you on hold."

And so I dialled her son's number.

Ring.... Ring... Ring....

I was so shocked but relieved that it rings! It actually rings!

When the son answered I said:

"Oh hi Sir. I am from *toot company. I am talking to Mr.*tooot*"

He said:

"Yeah speaking. What do you need?"

I replied:

"Mrs. *tooot* would like to talk to you. She said she keeps on tryin to contact you but you are out of reach. I wonder if you would allow me to conference you over so you guys could talk?"

Then to my disbelief he mentioned:

"No no no! I do not have a mom! Tell her she can die for all I care!"

It took a couple of seconds before I recovered and realized what happened. From there understood whats goin on as to why the customer couldn't reach his son.

It is because he blocked her from calling.

So I had no choice but to go back to the customer and told her:

"Maam apologies for keeping you wait but I really can't reach him as well"

We are actually taught to be transparent as much as possible but I cannot afford to tell her the truth. I don't know how to say those words plus I was fighting back my tears.

After the call I informed my supervisor I have to logout without explaining why. I went to the comfort room and cried my heart out.

I grew up family oriented and it pains me to witness such act. Though I really could not judge the son since I am not aware of the whole story but I was hurt. Badly hurt that it really affected my whole day in the office. I was even pulled out for coaching since I logged out without explaining.

That was the first time that I logged out though and my supervisor reminded me how will it affect my performance, even just for a day but I care less about it, that day.

Phew! Thank you for reading! If you have any questions lemme know on the comment. Have an awesome day!!

7
$ 6.11
$ 5.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @Tiqari
+ 3
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This is sooooo heartbreaking πŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ₯Ί I was once a customer service rep too for technical support in the Internet but your call was something very personal and emotional. I'm curious as to why her son resented her so much. Just hearing a voice from an elderly person makes me feel so emotional na nga eh πŸ’”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you guys!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Purebeauty thank you for the upvote! πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@tiqari thank you for the upvote! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@pisces haha thank you din sa upvote

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@leejhen thank you po for the upvote πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago