My 4 Selves -Johari Window

12 37
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

I am currently feeling broken hearted for not being able to save my draft of the supposed article that I will publish today due to internet connection so I decided to talk about something else instead. I have to move on with all the thoughts and time wasted. Anyway, going back to the topic.

Are you aware that we have FOUR selves?

I remembered when I was in High School one of my teacher talked about the Johari Window.

Johari Window is a technique that helps people to understand their physical and emotional relationship to one's self and towards other people. This can be a great help especially within a certain organization and is believed to improve team performance.

Remember, no man is an island.

It is significant for us to know ourselves before we deal with other people so we would know what to show and not to show. There are things that other people should know and should not know. But it does not end by just knowing what to share and what not to share because as human there are times that we are driven by our emotions which made us not aware about other things that other people might have already noticed.

Other than this, knowing yourself plays an important role as to how you can deal with your life issue/s be it emotionally, physically and psychologically. This way you would discover your strength, weaknesses and blind spots.

Here is the illustration I personally created.

Let me explain to you what these 4 windows means.

Open

Source: Unsplash

-it is the window of one's self that you and other people knows.

Example: favorite color, favorite food and etc.

Hidden

Source: Unsplash

-can be your secrets, could be referred to as your past experiences or something that you don't want or may not be comfortable for others to know.

Example: In noise amd read cash my personal details are hidden as I want privacy. We can also state as an example is you being on read cash writing articles that you wanna keep it a secret or it could be any hobby or habit that you don't wanna share with anybody.

Blind Spot

Source: Unsplash

-this is for me is a crucial part. I remembered our activity before is to go near our close friends inside the classroom and ask them what have they noticed to me that I might not be aware of. This time if you are to ask someone you let them judge you and say it straight to your face if what have they observed you. It is like an open forum.

This made me cry before, though it was some pity things but there are really cases when you had to explain your side.

Example: My classmates were saying they find me boastful and insensitive especially whenever I receive an award or compliment from the teachers they say that I kept on repeating or mentioning about it.

I cried because I never expected that is how they view it when in fact I am just happy. But really, we cannot control what other people would think about you. All we can do is follow the 90/10 principle: https://read.cash/@Glez/9010-principle-2fe37f13 and know what matters and what doesn't matter at all. Or shall I say who matters and who doesn't.

Unknown

Source: Unsplash

-this is a certain trait that you nor anyone knows. But this trait can be discovered whenever triggered.

Example: You have never realized that you can be a war freak not until you reached your boiling point which also overwhelmed the people who knows you to be kind and a happy go lucky person.

It is best that you learn on how to self assess so you would know how to limit tje things the you can show to everyone. We can say that the "HIDDEN" window can be your FACADE side.

Knowing this window can also be beneficial to you when using social media. Now a days people are so easy to find because they tend to provide anything in social media and is very much open with all their personal details which should have been hidden because anyone can hack and mess up your life.

Identity thief is also one factor why we need to really know how to limit ourselves in being way too informative about our life.

You have to be brave enough in order to accept and face these windows from there you would know how to deal with people from different parts of your life.

But of course I am no expert, each and every detail here is all comin from my humble opinion. You may add up or correct me on the comment below and I will be more than glad to interact with you.

Disclaimer: I made some reasearch in google for get a better idea as I only remembered a few things but all the details here are based on what I understood.

Thank you for your time!

6
$ 11.86
$ 11.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 1
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

research on google helped to make this article. I will try your idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank youuu for the upvotes so much appreciate it. And yes, you can definitely do that as long as you dont forget to mention it and do not copy the google article just input what you have understood and based it from google

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I understand that, thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The pain of losing the draft πŸ₯Ί That's why I started writing my drafts on wattpad so that it is saved even when I'm offline. I never asked others for blindspot because I'm afraid how they see me huhu. I'm having trouble staying true to myself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That may actually depend as to til what level does you know yourself. It is best not to do blind spot though because it will really caused gap towards your friends.

I would have to really save drafts anywhere else..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true, friends over hahahaha. yeah, consider word or wattpad :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is very true what you say. Sometimes we don't get to know each other. Sometimes we need people to tell us a lot of things about their perception of us. But that doesn't mean that they know us but that they show us their way of perceiving us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hi dear! How are you? I never noticed that I wasnt able to submit my reply to you here maybe due to my internet connection.

Yes this is true that is why it is hard when I find out that people knew me on a different perspective.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am well. No problems, dear. Not everyone responds to messages is a very common thing. By the way my congratulations because you are discovering your potentials inside your mind. You are growing and in a short time you will be flying. Best wishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope that would come true. I am liking the life as a blogger. I wanna make this as a part time so it would become a career and when time comes I hope I could write something much meaningful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Work on yourself and you will succeed. Learn to trust yourself first and that will increase your self-esteem. It doesn't matter if you fail, that's important to grow and keep trying is the path to success.

$ 0.00
3 years ago