Being an effective Supervisor: Torn between Disciplinary Action & Consideration

7 37
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

Way before I thought when you become a Supervisor you process incident reports just because you want to terminate people you do not like in the company or just to make sure they know that you got the power.

Photo from Unsplash

Others maybe are doing this but then I get to realize it is not always the same for everyone.

Sometimes it is hard as well to decide most especially if the people under your bucket are actually good people, well I am referring to attitude. There are also good people but poor performance and so this is where you get in for any action plans needed to be done so they get to follow the pace of improvement needed to achieve the same goal with the company you both work with.

I have this colleague who is under my bucket and I was given a chance to observe them and basically discipline when needed to.

But then the hardest part is when you are torn between processing a disciplinary action or consider it.

Photo from Unsplash

Here are 2 scenarios:

A colleague keeps on getting late because he has to look for money for his fare going to work. He mentioned his mom who is actually working abroad is currently sick -COVID and had a hard time sending him the money for his allowance as he is working while studying. And since he got no salary since he is new he got no choice but ask anyone he know to lend him money.

Another scenario is a colleague who was absent due to FEVER. Advised her to make sure she have herself checked but agent cannot go to a Doctor since she got no budget for check up. Just that as per policy we need her to provide medical certificate with fit to work.

Both colleagues are new so it is not so shocking that they are struggling for now especially that this is their first job but as someone who looks after them it is so hard to be torn between being human and being an employee who needs to follow policy.

Photo from Unsplash

I understand their concern but then at the end of the day this shouldn't be considered as they already know we have attendance policy. I have coached them and gave some tips or action plan how to manage the next time. Shits in life are really uncontrollable for some instances but then I told them to always have a back up so to make sure that they don't fall.

I remembered when I was a new hire too. I always cry whenever I got nothing left in my wallet because I do not want to be absent. I used to go to my Aunt's house even when I only get hurtful words when my mom cannot do anything to support or give me allowance. I do not want to go back to that same situation really.


...end thoughts...

I advised them that once they receive their first ever salary they have to be very keen with spending because it would be so hard if their work will be affected.

If you are on my shoe, what will you do?

Lead Image from Unsplash

Note: All the texts & graphics posted on this article are originally mind not unless stated otherwise.


4
$ 6.92
$ 6.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @foryoubtc09
$ 0.01 from @Jeaneth
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

If I were on your shoe madam, I would consider these newbies. For sure gapaningkamot man sab na silag ayo. Gawas nlng og makit an nimo nga murag gi take for granted lang nila ilang work. Makita mana sa body language sa tao. Gapangapa pa pud na sila kay bag-o pa, ga adjust pana sila sa lifestyle changes.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yep geng but consideration is also limited. Normally before considering anything I would always ask the opinion of my manager and if he says its up to me then its a good thing...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm. I was once like that but I did my best on not to commit absences and dozens of lates because I know how strict a BPO company is when in terms of tardies and absences especially when you are still under the probationary period unless if you don't really value the work then you can quit immediately than displaying an unprofessional behaviour..
Anyways, reminding them would be the best thing to do in the first few occurences.. but if case it's keep coming then I think it's already a behavioral thing which deals most of the employee's attitude and that you really need to imposed company's policy. It's the rule which keep everything in the proper place and order..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I hope everyone has the same mindset with you Glen. Way before I would always do my best to go to work despite not eating at all. Basta naa lay plete payts na lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

same here, glez. Naransan ko rin nyan noon.. yung one way na pamasahe lang yung dala.. hindi sure kung may mahahanap na makakain. Payts kaayo basta naay manglibre but if wala antos jud sa kagutom.. hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe you can gave them a chance for now, they might not have any other source of income, that's why they have that kind of situation.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I did but already reminded him that if this happens again I will surely escalate it to HR.

$ 0.00
1 year ago