Carelessness: Resulting to a Lost of My SLP Assets in the Transaction Process

2 33
Avatar for GlenCanete
2 years ago

This story happened when I got home on the evening of 10/29/2021. It was actually started from a pinned post created by one of the user there in noise.cash who is soliciting of unused SLP tokens as he was planning to conduct giveaways for his subscribers. I don’t really see any problems about his intentions, so without a doubt and hesitation I have freely participated and offered some of my SLP tokens that he could use for his giveaways and commented his post. It was a long exchanges of comments actually before things was finally sorted out.

These are the actual SLP tokens available in my Bitcoin.com wallet:

·         1 KONRA

·         1000 STRANGER

·         68000 HONK

·         4555 CANDYMAN

I message him and offered to donate some of the tokens to him for his giveaway plan. I was supposed to give him some HONK tokens but he says that someone already gave some of it to him and requested the other token instead. I opted to give him 500 worth STRANGER token since I don’t find that token useful since I haven’t seen that kind of token more often from the other crypto chain, then he agreed and started the transfer using the SLP address that was indicated on his post. The transactions gone failed on the first try due to insufficient balance of my BCH wallet that will be used for the transaction charges. I ask him just to shoulder the amount since my wallet was a left empty by that time, he agreed and sent .50 worth of BCH to my BCH wallet address.

I immediately proceeded on transferring after seeing the amount that he sent to my wallet in which will be use for the payment for the transaction. The transaction prompted as “Successful” but surprisingly, unfortunate things happened - there were no Stranger token sent to his SLP wallet and the remaining Stranger token in my wallet were also gone and missing.

I have message him back and asked for help. He was then replied that the token that I tried to send to him was scam token. It was then that I realized what happened and I have no idea that it was indeed a scam token so I message him back and sent back the amount of BCH that he sent to me for the transaction payment fee since that transaction was unsuccessful.

I got panic and suddenly remembered one of his post something about separating SLP tokens from your noise.cash earnings as this will have an impact on your wallet and might experience loss some SLP tokens due to consolidation.

https://noise.cash/post/n0jgpp4f0z6x

With the fear of losing the rest of my SLP tokens, I have immediately created another wallet that will serve as a repository wallet for my SLP tokens. I have even actually labelled it as SLP Wallet and then started transferring the rest of the tokens, starting from “1 KONRA”, then followed by “4555 CANDYMAN and then the “68000 HONK” tokens I which I got from Mr.Trenzs’ giveaways longtime ago. The transfer was done simultaneously without even checking if the first transaction successfully went well. After done transferring all of it, it was then I have noticed that the SLP’s are not reflecting on the newly created wallet and it even makes me more worried because of it. I, then check the history of the transaction and I was surprised to see the different wallet indicated from my SLP Wallet on where the tokens were sent.

I have verified the wallet address to confirm and found out that the address matches with the BCH address indicated of the new wallet that I have created. My mind was set to use the SLP wallet address and not the BCH wallet address prior to that transfer but I’m not sure why and what happened by that time since I have accidentally copied the BCH wallet address instead of the SLP wallet address. I don’t think that it was really the Stranger token that cause the messed up but might due to my carelessness which resulted to the loss of the rest of my SLP tokens in the Bitcoin.com wallet. I have then reached out with the noise.cash community by creating a post asking for any help on how to retrieved those tokens or anything just undo the transactions.

Someone commented that if it was already sent then there’s no way of getting it back and just consider those token as lost. It was a bit hard for me as I kept that tokens for a long time. I was thinking how unfortunately am I after losing value of my newly acquired tokens from a rug pull then another instance of losing tokens due to carelessness.

Closing Thoughts:

That situation was lessons learned for me actually. Getting panic and rushing things out will not really do anything good as this will mostly result on messed up and loss of your valuable things for the most of the time. We should always remain calm and think clearly and plan things carefully before doing anything. Always do check things thoroughly to ensure correctness of the things that you are doing. Well, I have learned from that mistake and need to accept things and move on.

I hope that you have also learned something from this unfortunate experiences of mine. God bless always, Guys!

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @COCOyaRn
Avatar for GlenCanete
2 years ago

Comments

Ayos lang yan lods. Wala na tayong magagawa losses na talaga. Sayang ang tokens

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga, Lods. Sayang talaga yung mga SLP tokens na naipon ko din for a long period of time...

$ 0.00
2 years ago