Easy DIY, Fix, Repair, Restore, Replacement sole for shoe W&LT "Kiss the future"

0 183
Avatar for Gigamegs
2 years ago
Topics: DIY, Repair, Replacement, Fix, Shoes, ...

So my pair of W&LT "Kiss the future" shoes outsole is worn and unusable. Instead of wasting it and throwing it away I decided to fix it. Also sometimes ago I saw a YT video about someone DIY repair/fix/restored his sneaker pair with a replacement sole and it got me inspired to do the same.

Prerequisites:

  • pair of W&LT "Kiss the future" sport shoes

  • Aceton

  • replacement pair of sport/basketball combined midsole and outsole found on Taobao

  • B-7000 adhesive

  • Bison construction adhesive

  • 3 speed clamp

Start

First off, I used the Aceton (4-5€/1L) to separate the upper part from the sole. Then I removed the inner sole and poured a little bit of Aceton into the inside. After a little exposure time about only 1-2 minutes one can start to take the sole off. It's super easy.

Shoe without sole
Aceton (4-5€/1L)

Then for the next step I prepared the shoe to have a good bonding surface with the replacement sole (10-15€ Taobao) and tried to clean the old adhesive, leftovers of the old outsole, etc. from the shoe.

Replacement sole
adhesives
speed clamps

For the next step, I traced the outline of the shoe on a piece of cardboard. And to be on the safe side and also because I am on a budget, I used the 2 adhesives B-7000 and Bison construction. Unfortunately I am not an expert and I don't know if it's a good idea to mix both but also adhesives are expensive. The B-7000 adhesive is from Fasttech and cost $33.36/1L. The Bison construction adhesive from my local Action store and cost €10,90/kg. So the Bison is the cheapest.

In the internet and on the packaging it says that B-7000 is an epoxy resin, medium fluid and transparent. The hardened glue is highly flexible and you can easily separate the glued parts from each other afterwards. The glue is suitable for many materials: metal, glass, ceramic, stone, wood, leather, PE, PP, PVC, ABS, nylon, electronic accessories, plastic accessories, etc. The curing time is about 12-24h.

On the other hand the Bison construction adhesive is medium fluid and white and for materials like wood, plastic, metal, stone, ceramic, polystyrene foam, concrete, plaster, chipboard. The curing time is about 24h (instruction on the packaging).

For the next step I evenly distributed the two adhesives on the sole, fixed the upper part with the help of the cardboard and the speed clamps and waited 24-48h for the adhesive to cure. Done! The result looks totally okay to me and it seems to stick for now. The total cost is about 14€-23€, specifically 10-15€ for the replacement sole, 4-8€ Aceton and adhesives.

Upper part, sole, cardboard
All together, curing time 24-48h
Result above
Result side

2
$ 0.24
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Gigamegs
2 years ago
Topics: DIY, Repair, Replacement, Fix, Shoes, ...

Comments