Shuffling Work and Studies

10 64
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Work

Dec 7, 2021

Being a student and working at the same time isn’t an easy feat. Especially when you are working to cover your academic expenses. I got exposed to the construction industry before I got into college, and this enabled me earn some extra cash but doing more than one thing at a time can be very hard sometimes. I started reviewing Bill of Quantities before I got admitted into tertiary institution. (A Bill of Quantities is a construction document, prepared to know the estimate of constructing a building of developing a construction document).

Screenshot of what a Bill of Quantities looks like

The first time I reviewed a bill of quantities was in the year 2014. It was a project one of my cousins wanted to handle. I was paid $15 for reviewing it and this started my journey as a part-time student worker. I later found out that the job was a practice job and not a real one, but anyways, I got paid. I guess his main aim was to expose me to the technicalities of the document.

Asides from other small gigs, my first major job as a student was a part-time job as a document manager in 2018. No physical meetings, everything was virtual and all I had to do was draft letters, generate invoices, prepare quotations and send mails. My studies weren’t affected as all i did was virtual, so I had enough time for myself. The pay was good, about $50 per month, and it lasted for 3 months until the company stopped receiving contracts. One of the Managing partner in the company gave me an offer to do the same job but for his personal company instead.

It was still part-time, but I had to go to the office at least once in 2 weeks whenever school was on session, and every weekday whenever school was out of session. Most of my lectures were Mondays to Wednesdays, so I go the office on Thursdays. I reserve Fridays for myself, as I would always visit the cinema almost every Friday. I stopped after working for 6 months. I needed to focus on studies. My boss was really nice to me. He made studying and working very easy for me. I was allowed me plan my work schedule myself, so I also chose to work at my most convenient time.

One of the highlights of working with him was when he gave me $50 for my birthday. He gave me my whole salary as a birthday gift. The money came in handy as I was writing examinations at that time. My boss wasn’t happy when I left, but he understood why I left. We haven’t spoken for about a year now, but we are on good terms.

I think the most important thing is how we are able to create balance between studying, working and catching fun. I realized that sooner or later and I never allowed one to affect the other. I have a policy not to work whenever I am having an examination no matter how profitable the job might seem to be. Although, Sometimes I compromise and either study more than I planned to or work more than I planned to, I still find balance eventually.

Now, I work for myself, so it is easier to plan my studies alongside with work. My life has been no fun recently. It is either work or study. I can’t even remember the last time I went to the cinema. My Netflix subscription just keeps wasting every month, but I think others are using it, including the person paying for it. Hehe.

School resumed about 2 weeks ago, and I am looking forward to a busy semester as I am in my final year. So combining research, Projects and term papers might not be easy this session, but I know I’d scale through. I always do.

I am currently on a work trip in another state. We are developing a farmland, so we would be constructing all the infrastructure there which includes; perimeter fence, Goat house, Cow house, Poultry house, Feed mill, residential buildings (to accommodate workers) and so on. It is a bit tasking as we are currently behind schedule, but It is all good though since we are making progress.
I’d be traveling to school to attended lectures tomorrow then maybe travel back for work.

2022 is going to be a busy and rewarding year.

Here are some pictures of my site. I’ll take more pictures today.

8
$ 8.55
$ 8.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @BSzandra
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 4
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Work

Comments

You are truely a multi tasking person and I really find it very inspiring, studying and working at the same time is not easy but you are able to manage your time. Salute to you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It isn't easy working and schooling at the same time but it is what it is!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. It is what it is. We just have to do our bits. Take care Coach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find this very inspiring. Maybe it's something I had dreamed of doing before. You seem like someone who has good time management skills.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I might seem like that but sadly, I struggle with time management.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well... That's something that I have been struggling with and it seems I am not getting any better at it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yow student boss finally you're back in writing hehe. I know you can handle those variety of loads 😉 and 2022 is fruitful year for you for sure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe. Yes. Thanks. 2022 will be a fruitful year for you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working while studying can be a challenge but not impossible. Besides, it is good practice for assimilating into the working world. A good work experience while still in school will leave you with invaluable lessons, preparing you for the real world after.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. It isn’t impossible and it enables us prepare properly for after graduation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago